Ace's configuration - much advice requested

Ace

Thread author
Jun 10, 2014
I work in an industry that requires me to look at solicitations from unknown people and new vendors frequently. Sophisticated spearphishing is a real threat in my industry, and because I frequently need to open Email attachments and visit websites from unknowns, my usage scenario faces me with inevitable exposure to malware. With this in mind, I travel frequently, and it isn't practical for me to have a second device as a cannon fodder machine, so to speak.

With all this in mind, have I created a suitable barrier against intruders? I'm very open to suggestions, as I'm new to the industry that now has my computer in the line of fire, and so have only just now started taking computer security seriously. I have an effectively unlimited budget, as I'll just deduct the cost of any security software from my taxes.

BoraMurdar

Community Manager
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Aug 30, 2012
Well I must say, very good config!

Foxit - I'm interested in a free alternative that allows you to write on PDFs now that Foxit is bundled with Malware - which which I did easily remove, but still
I am not aware of any free program that will give an option to completely edit your PDF except maybe
http://www.pdfill.com/freewriter.html
also, NitroPdf free will give you an option to create a PDF from any other document format...

Also and most important Welcome to MalwareTips !!! :)

D

Deleted member 178

Comodo Internet Security Pro (AV, sandboxing, HIPS, and firewall all enabled) - if you need RealTime AV
Malwarebytes Anti Malware Pro - turn off realtime, use it as on-demand scanner
Hitman Pro Alert - not really needed
Zemana Antilogger (full paid version)-CIS do the same but better
Appguard (currently in 10 day trial) - buy it, using only it is already enough
Malwarebytes Anti Exploit (Beta)- not needed , Appguard do it for you

too much, i highlighted the one you should keep.

Mateotis

Level 10
Verified