Mini Spy

Loading...

Latest Threads

Loading...
 

Configure Kaspersky for Stealthing all ports.

Discussion in 'How-To Articles, Tips and Guides' started by malbky, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. malbky

    malbky Regular Member

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    1
    There are many kis lovers and fanboys. I am also currently using kaspersky 2011. When you are using kasperskys default settings you try to do any stealth test like Grc ShieldsUP! you will fail as all your ports wont be stealthed, although some will be and some will remain closed. The stealth ports will also vary each time you run the test. This is due to the adaptive behaviour of kasperskys firewall. . So to make all your ports stealth follow the guide and config KIS for max security follow this guide.[ Guide applies for 2011 and 2012 version of KIS. Can also be used on Kaspersky Pure]
    1- Open Kis
    2-Go to settings-- select firewall
    3-Under network rules select settings
    4-Go to packet rules tab
    5-Look for the entries any "Any incoming TCP streams" and "Any incoming UDP streams".
    [attachment=868]
    6- Now right click on the permissions column and select "blocked" for both of them.
    7- This would stealth all your ports.

    For more security
    1- Go to proactive defense tab
    2-Select settings
    3-Tick on all the check-boxes.

    THnx this is my first thread at this forum.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AyeAyeCaptain

    AyeAyeCaptain Regular Member

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not using KIS at the moment but am sure a few will find this useful... welcome to MT by the way! :D
     
  3. Viking

    Viking Active Member

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    250
    I have read that changing those 2 ports to BLOCK, is not recommended!
     
  4. malbky

    malbky Regular Member

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope its perfectly ok. Anyway after hours of searching(not related to this topic), i found this at kis forums. Any way i am currently using it and facing no probs.
     
  5. malbky

    malbky Regular Member

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    1
    Jack I would like you to make this thread stick as many dont know how to do this.
     
  6. LoftedAphid86

    LoftedAphid86 Super Moderator

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Due to the nature of this section of the forum, none of the threads here can be stuck here, since they'd all be important. The search function is supposed to be used for finding things in this section.
     
  7. Spirit

    Spirit Regular Member

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    15
    This tweak did not work in my case Despite of all ports stealth Grc result is Fail
     
  8. LoftedAphid86

    LoftedAphid86 Super Moderator

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you read your thread, the issue is not that the ports are not in stealth but that they could ping your computer.
     
  9. Spirit

    Spirit Regular Member

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    15
    yes i know that and i have mentioned in my post too that all ports are stealth but by unchecking/blocking icmp the test result pass. :)
     
  10. jasonX

    jasonX Regular Member

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    23
    I saw this lengthy thread at another forum about KIS 2012 and stealth. Kaspersky has a different idea about stealth so they removed it from version 2009. LINK

    There seemed to be a lots of idea there whether to stealth or not-to stealth :)
     
  11. HeffeD

    HeffeD Super Moderator

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,666
    Likes Received:
    3
    The problem with the 'stealth' concept, is that there is no such thing...

    Someone has decided at some point that if their computer doesn't respond to standard networking protocols, they will be invisible. :rolleyes:

    This is not the case...

    The problem is, that if a computer makes a request, (A simple ping, for example) it expects a response. This is standard networking protocol. Yes, even if a machine is turned off, a reply that the host is unreachable will result if a machine is pinged.

    This lack of a response because you're 'stealthed' actually tells someone (if they care) that not only is there a computer at that address, but it's actively dropping requests. :exclamation:

    So much for 'stealth'. :p
     
  12. malbky

    malbky Regular Member

    Reputation:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    1
    Easy way to get total stealth. Just switch on Windows Firewall. IT is recommended not two use 2 f.w together but you can try as I have never had problems with it.
     

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads: Configure Kaspersky
Forum Title Date
Kaspersky Software configure kaspersky 2014 firewall settings Mar 16, 2014
How-To Articles, Tips and Guides .:How to install and configure Kaspersky Internet Security 2012:. Dec 17, 2011
Security Configuration Wizard How AtiTude is Configured Aug 27, 2014
Sandboxie (Invincea) Software How to Configure Sandboxie for Maximum Protection Jun 17, 2014
Safe Online Practices Effectively Configure AdGuard AdBlocker on Chrome, Firefox, Opera May 4, 2014

MalwareTips.com is an independent website.All trademarks mentioned on this page are the property of their respective owners.