Pros
  • Nice UI. I love it.
    More options than IDM.
    Extremely fast.
    Free.
    Amazing media downloader.
CONS
Download Location and adding categories are painful. Could be improved
Cannot drag-and-drop downloaded files directly from the UI, like IDM.
Download Locations could be optimized a lot.
BOTTOM LINE
I am giving it five stars regardless of its flaws. I know they'll be fixed. And best of all, it's free! A highly recommended download manager.

NullPointerException

Level 12
Thread author
Verified
Aug 25, 2014
"Software is like wine. It's better when it's free. And when it is delivered fast. Nobody likes to wait. Not even programmers like to wait."

I am currently downloading a file with it while writing the review. It's an amazing software.

Download Ninja was first recommended to me by a fellow MT member to me. I decided to dump my old, cracked IDM and give a try to the open-source(?), free download manager. Now, as a computer scientist, I really thought that a decent download manager cannot be free. Or at least, adware-free.

Download Ninja proved me wrong. in a good way.

I was first impressed by the web design. Very well done. And then, as I installed Download Ninja, I expected adware and 'offers'. Fortunately, the installer was free of them. Now ; I did want to test its capabilities. I was quite surprised I got the max off my broadband. A 500 MB file in two hours is quite satisfactory for a Time Warner user.

Aside from my slow internet connection; I did love the speed. IDM gave me quite a bit of performance hit. While Ninja Downloader used only a few MB of RAM and even few processes and threads. 53MB and 2 processes is quite light in my opinion.

Its download-pickup is excellent. My (cracked) IDM could really, find no downloads and my browser would instead download them. I understand it's probably the altered behavior, but really, Download Ninja hasn't missed any file I've thrown at it yet. It's excellent.

What it could improve?