Battle ESET NOD32 vs. Webroot Complete in Windows 10?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ifacedown

Level 18
Thread author
Verified
Jan 31, 2014
Hi.

Well, I think many would say that I should not match ESET NOD32 with Webroot Complete, because Webroot in this version have some additional features. Well, I like the "simplicity" of ESET NOD32 over ESET Smart Security.

But what about overall protection? I'm a careful user. I just want more lightness... both are light but Webroot is lighter.

Well, I could also have Webroot + Voodooshield :)

Atlas147

Level 30
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Jul 28, 2014
Cannot speak for Webroot because I've never used it before but have to say that ESET is extremely light, I would say the lightest AV I have used yet. (Comparing with Avast, Avira, Bitdefender, 360)

H

hjlbx

Does anyone know if Webroot fixed the disabled firewall controls in Windows 10\8 - or - is Webroot still saying nothing about the fact that the WSA firewall controls are disabled on W8/10 systems ?

Mark my word... someone will post a link in this thread to Webroot that states the WSA firewall controls cannot be enabled because of the OS. OK, it's a technical issue... I get that. In light of this technical issue - and until Webroot figures out what it is going to about it (this has been going on since fall of 2012) - Webroot recommends installing a Windows firewall outbound notification soft - like BiniSoft's Windows Firewall Control...

However, Webroot does not notify users that the firewall controls are disabled on post-Windows 7 systems prior-to installation; the user only finds out after installing WSA. The whole premise of WSA's firewall "protection" is that it adds some (outbound) notifications to the built-in Windows firewall - that's it. So if the WSA firewall controls do not work - regardless of the reason(s) - the user is left with nothing but Windows firewall's built-in protections = no outbound notifications.