How to test applications safely?

Purshu_Pro

Level 29
Thread author
Verified
Honorary Member
Aug 3, 2013
Hi I'm new to this world so i want to learn things, so i have started off, so the first lesson is i want to learn how to test Antivirus applications in a safe way, so if any one could guide me i will do so!

Purshu_Pro

Level 29
Thread author
Verified
Honorary Member
Aug 3, 2013

Exterminator

Community Manager
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Oct 23, 2012
Virtual environment!! I use Virtual Box.I like the ease with which I can change the MAC address in Virtual Box for other endeavors.

Reactions: Venustus

kjdemuth

Level 9
Verified
Jan 17, 2013
VM workstation and the host system is in shadow mode, courtesy of Shadowdefender. I use VM workstation so I can create a few snapshots of certain AV's I'm testing.

D

Deleted member 178

more seriously, im using Shadow Defender + VirtualBox

Purshu_Pro

Level 29
Thread author
Verified
Honorary Member
Aug 3, 2013
Any one can tell me the correct steps of doing so? with an example?

D

Deleted member 178

Check the "how to" section, i remember we have a tutorial there

Stubbornest

Level 1
Verified
Jan 3, 2014
Adding to the earlier advice you received from the others about VM's :

Tip to get a free Windows with Internet Explorer browser ready-to-go instantly.
This Microsoft site has virtual machines with many versions of Windows and Internet Explorer pre-installed.
Download and run.

I use this for testing my websites on Internet Explorer and Windows versions I do not have installed.

http://www.modern.ie/en-us
Choose the link "Download VMs for Mac, Linux or Windows".
Then click one of the 2 links named "Get free VMs" right below the section titled Download a Virtual Machine. For Mac, Linux, or Windows.
(The other 2sections "Test across browsers in a few click" and "Get a free 14 day trial of Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac." are not relevant and will eventually cost you money.)