I'm back. And lost. But my config. here has a few General Security questions.

becky2012

Thread author
Jan 10, 2012
Hello fellow members,

I joined today about 2 weeks. Happened upon this site while searching around for programs like PrevxSafeOnline or Webroot SecureAnywhere for that extra layer of protection. I was looking for a price that I could afford so in my search I used the words "discounts" and "bargains". Voila! There you were. Those giveaways added this forum to the search results. According to the Config Wizard, I'm still an amateur, novice, beginning. Totally clueless to be blunt. Severely technically-challenged. I pick up almost everything in forums and when I'm troubleshooting and doing research. Could easily spend a dozen lifetimes reading all the great stuff - that is, the stuff in layman's terms and presented for casual home users like myself to easily understand and follow. I appreciated all those sources not specifically for IT Professionals, Web Designers, etc. to go the extra half step and present snapshots, etc. Bless all their hearts. I want to learn and I love to learn. But if my instructor is speaking a foreign language with a kajillion acronyms and does not draw a flow chart, t-square or diagram, does not pass around, books, pamplets, manuals or any kind of hand-outs, use a black or white board or projector then it makes visualizing very difficult and learning the topic or subject extrodinarly difficult for me. I, personally, can often do without visuals if the steps are written in order, in full detail and in layman's lingo - extra lite on the acronyms please.

Both my desktop, a Dell Inspiron and my laptop, a Toshiba Satellite are Windows 7 64-bit. Laptop is Home Premium and the Dell is Professional. A bit of a difference. This is my first laptop - not liking it all that much. Too slow and tiny.

My security (I'd guess I'd rate it as Medium) at the moment is: