Mini Spy

Loading...

Latest Threads

Loading...
 
  1. Welcome to MalwareTips!
    MalwareTips is a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn about PC security and computers.
    As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but you can not create new threads or reply to an existing one unless you are a registered member. By joining our free community you will have access to post threads, start private conversations with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features.
    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join us today!

Panda URL Filter

Discussion in 'Panda Software' started by Ramblin, Nov 7, 2011.

  1. Ramblin

    Ramblin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    127
    "Earth - 07-11-01:30 -- Panda URL Filter isn't compatible with SBIE? :( "

    After seeing the preceding comment by Earth at the shoutbox, I decided to create this thread. His post caught my attention because I installed Panda URL Filter yesterday on my XP and it is running perfectly even though I am using SBIE.

    If Earth is experiencing an issue, it is probably due to some other unknown conflict. I installed the toolbar and afterward uninstalled it and some other program that gets installed, only leaving the URL Filter.

    [​IMG]
    I don't have any issues but lets remember that I don't use nothing but the sandbox. As of now, I am using SBIE, NoScript, Norton DNS and now the Panda URL Filter. It feels great and it blocked every URL that I threw at it yesterday except two. It has one process and it stays at around 8 MB with 0 CPU usage.

    Bo
  2. Huracan

    Huracan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9,880
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2,748
    Trophy Points:
    847
    Thanks for bringing this up. :)

    I'm using Sandboxie 3.60 (64-bit) with default settings, and only run IE9 32-bit under the supervision of SBIE.

    I too have only one process running Panda_URL_Filtering.exe *32, since I uninstalled the Toolbar.

    When visiting the Panda URL Filter test page, I get:
    Code:
    This website is for testing purposes only.
    
    If Panda Cloud Antivirus Web & URL filtering is active, you should not see this web page loaded in your browser except if you bypassed the filter.
    
    I have no idea what would be conflicting as I don't have any addons in IE9 except SimpleAdblock.
  3. Tobi

    Tobi Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    35
    Go to Sandbox Settings > Applications > Security/Privacy, then add Panda Cloud Antivirus.

    See if this fixes your issue. :)
  4. Ramblin

    Ramblin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    127
    http://download.cloudantivirus.com/eng/malicious/?id=panda2_0dn&url=www.cloudantivirus.com/testurlfilter/
    I had to do 2 things to get the filter working on my computer. One, go to sandbox settings>Applications>Security/Privacy and apply Panda Cloud Antivirus.
    Two, this one is strange:
    When I first installed the toolbar, I uninstalled the toolbar and the other program that gets installed BEFORE opening my browser. The filter did not work. So I ran the installer again and ran the browser for a couple of pages. Afterward, I uninstalled the toolbar, the cleanup tool and the filter worked.

    I had tried the filter under TimeFreeze so I knew the filter worked fine. When I first installed the toolbar and the filter was not working, I just figured out quickly that "only running the browser before uninstalling the toolbar" was the only thing that I was doing differently in my real system.

    Try the compatibility setting first and if it does not work, try installing it like I did.

    My system is XP SP3 32Bits. Before installing I check around and even though there have been issues in the past, there is none now. Let me know what happens, lets get it working for you. It seems to be very good with no slowdowns.;)

    Bo
  5. Huracan

    Huracan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9,880
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2,748
    Trophy Points:
    847
    Thanks Tobi. :)

    The Panda URL Filter test page now displays as it should.

    Edit: Just seen you post now Bo. Thanks for bringing this up, it's solved now. :D
  6. Ramblin

    Ramblin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    127
    My pleasure brother Earth. ;)

    Bo
  7. NSG001

    NSG001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Went about testing this filter again and find it is not compatible with Dragon and Waterfox browsers.
    Works like a charm on IE9 and Firefox tho'.
    Back to BDTL for now :)

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads: Panda Filter
Forum Title Date
Panda Software Panda URL Filtering questions Mar 30, 2013
The Community Video Reviews Panda URL Filter Test (PLAMEN761034) Aug 4, 2012
War Room BitDefender TrafficLight vs Panda URL Filter Oct 31, 2011
Hot Deals and Discounts Panda AntiVirus Pro 2014-3 PCs $24.99 or $0 After Rebate Friday at 2:32 PM
The Community Video Reviews Panda Cloud Pro 2014 (Manzaitest) Jul 11, 2014

MalwareTips.com is an independent website.All trademarks mentioned on this page are the property of their respective owners.