Startup Repair virus problem

alanp4

Thread author
May 3, 2014
If I try to start up my laptop, I get a screen offering either 'Startup Repair' or 'Start windows normally'. The second option isn't available, and I don't want to use Startup Repair as I think it's a virus.
I've created a startup disc on the computer I'm using now, inserted it into the infected maxchine andpressed F8. I chose 'repair your computer', but when I get to typing in the password for my account, the keyboard won't work.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

TwinHeadedEagle

Level 41
Verified
Mar 8, 2013
Hi,

Do you have USB flash and access to another PC? Also, tell me is your keyboard USB or PS/2?

Can you access BIOS?

alanp4

Thread author
May 3, 2014
Thanks for the prompt reply and I should say straight away that you're dealing with a complete novice here. I'm presuming that a USB flash is what I'd call a memory stick. If so, yes I have. I don't know which keyboard I have, but it's the same as the one I'm using, so is there a way to find out?
As for the BIOs, I just don't know!

TwinHeadedEagle

Level 41
Verified
Mar 8, 2013
Just unplug your keyboard and you will know by this image:

ps2-v-usb.jpg

Is this laptop, PC or branded computer? If so, tell me which manufacturer and model.

TwinHeadedEagle

Level 41
Verified
Mar 8, 2013
We're in deadlock :)

Can you tell me what is the manufacturer and model? You can see it from the back side of your Laptop. Also, do you have another USB keyboard to borrow?

alanp4

Thread author
May 3, 2014
The infected machine is an Acer Aspire 5552 laptop. The one I'm using now is an an Acer Aspire 5745G but I don't have a separate keyboard to hand.

TwinHeadedEagle

Level 41
Verified
Mar 8, 2013
Do you have install disk with you? I really don't know why your keyboard isn't working in recovery with your recovery CD. Can you access recovery without CD, by using Repair your computer when you boot.

alanp4

Thread author
May 3, 2014