Poobell's Config - Webroot Complete or Kapersky Total Security 2015

Poobell

Thread author
May 4, 2015
I have been using Webroot for a few years. Also use Kapersky on another laptop (6 month trial). Webroot is for sure faster. Kapersky has a new version of Pure that I read about called ULTIMATE PC PROTECTION TOTAL SECURITY. Does anyone know about this version being cloud based?

Reading many reviews on both Kapersky and Webroot. Looking for advise for best protection.

Appreciate hearing about your experience and opinions, thanks

Reactions: greenebola
H

hjlbx

Kaspersky is 32-bit so it cannot hook some 64-bit processes. Consequently, Kaspersky HIPS will not alert on some 64-bit processes... this is all covered in the Kaspersky User's manual.

Webroot cannot protect Windows firewall or UAC; some malwares can disable both.

Webroot's firewall controls are disabled on both W8/8.1 and W10 systems - not because of Webroot, but because of Windows.

Webroot does not rollback some screenlocker ransomware.

If use Webroot, then use Guest Account and\or antiexecutable such as VooDooShield or NoVirusThaks Exe Radar Pro for best security. You should use limited Guest Account anyway.

In any case, I use AE with all my AV softs.

Between the two, Kaspersky decisively offers better overall security - even on 64-bit system.

Poobell

Thread author
May 4, 2015
Kaspersky is 32-bit so it cannot hook some 64-bit processes. Consequently, Kaspersky HIPS will not alert on some 64-bit processes... this is all covered in the Kaspersky User's manual.

Webroot cannot protect Windows firewall or UAC; some malwares can disable both.

Webroot's firewall controls are disabled on both W8/8.1 and W10 systems - not because of Webroot, but because of Windows.

Webroot does not rollback some screenlocker ransomware.

If use Webroot, then use Guest Account and\or antiexecutable such as VooDooShield or NoVirusThaks Exe Radar Pro for best security. You should use limited Guest Account anyway.