Ad-Aware Free Antivirus 11.8.586.835

S

sinu

Guest
#1
Supported OS: Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1, Windows 10 (32-bit, 64-bit).

What’s New in Ad-Aware Free Antivirus+ 11.8.586.835:
* Now Compatible with Microsoft Windows 10
* Upgraded Active Virus Control (AVC) SDK
* New Anti-Spam SDK
* Bug Fixes and Performance Enhancements
* Improved Distribution of Definition Files
* Easier Uninstallation Process
* Improved Upgrade Process

http://store.lavasoft.com/clickgate...094&wid=3813&dest=http://offer33.lavasoft.com
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2014
Messages
720
OS
Windows 7
#6
Is someone using this av?
Hmmm ? I'm not

Reason: Post above

Better off using Bitdefender paid or free

PS,
I heard that Adaware is a completely different company then it was 10 years ago, and its not a trusting brand of software anymore. The AV uses much more RAM then Bitdefender with a weaker defense,... so its the worst of both worlds. lol.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
4,055
#8
Supported OS: Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1, Windows 10 (32-bit, 64-bit).

What’s New in Ad-Aware Free Antivirus+ 11.8.586.835:
* Now Compatible with Microsoft Windows 10
* Upgraded Active Virus Control (AVC) SDK
* New Anti-Spam SDK
* Bug Fixes and Performance Enhancements
* Improved Distribution of Definition Files
* Easier Uninstallation Process
* Improved Upgrade Process

http://store.lavasoft.com/clickgate/click.aspx?uid=1006076&crid=7094&wid=3813&dest=http://offer33.lavasoft.com
Active Virus Control is now available in free version?
 

jamescv7

Level 61
Trusted
Joined
Mar 15, 2011
Messages
12,639
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Microsoft
#11
@yesnoo: That should include per on the link mentioned, sometimes there are some areas on the sites which needs to be updated like the screenshots.
 

Enju

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
444
#12
So AVC is now there in free version too?
I am little confused as though the link you give mention free version & new version info mention AVC but no info about this on their forum.
No, it installs AVC but requires a paid subscription to be used:
 
Joined
May 26, 2014
Messages
1,013
Antivirus
Kaspersky
#14
I used to use it (but PRO version thanks to MT giveaway :))along with Webroot. No big problems or anything. Then I switched to ESET and Webroot which we use today. Once I run out of my 10+ 6 months keys from Broncos then I will take out Webroot but who knows by 5 years maybe Webroot doesn't exist!
 

Enju

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
444
#15
No. It is NOT. You are incredibly misinformed.
Oh really? They use Active Virus Control (Bitdefender tech), they use the Bitdefender AM engine, Antispam is Bitdefender too, Firewall too, Cloud is Bitdefender so tell me, where is their own tech?
 
Likes: Solarlynx
Joined
Jan 31, 2014
Messages
844
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Microsoft
#16
Oh really? They use Active Virus Control (Bitdefender tech), they use the Bitdefender AM engine, Antispam is Bitdefender too, Firewall too, Cloud is Bitdefender so tell me, where is their own tech?
It is NOT Bitdefender rebranded. The correct term would be, an "AV that uses Bitdefender engine."
 
Likes: JakeXPMan
R

Ray Redbad

Guest
#17
Yeah, really. You wrote, "It's basically just a rebranded Bitdefender with worse performance." As ifacedown noted, it is NOT R-E-B-R-A-N-D-E-D. Rebranded would mean it would look exactly the same but trademarks would be replaced, as was once done by Acronis and IObit.

And of course every one who buys BD's SDK pays extra for the "worse performance."

Thanks for the screen shots. Yawn. I know the app inside and out...
https://malwaretips.com/threads/lavasoft-ad-aware-11-teh-lowdown.29172/

And Bitdefender, too. For about 12 years.

where is their own tech?
Right under your nose, Einstein. Here are the components running under the Ad-Aware service in Pro Security. (Except for Comodo; I think I was running KillSwitch or something at the time.) I'd tell you where you can find them on your system. But you can't afford me. :D

LSAAPSprocsASLR2.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Likes: Solarlynx