Ashwin PC and Laptop Config 2017

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashwin

Level 1
Thread author
Verified
Feb 16, 2014
The PC is a custom gaming rig which I built a few months ago. The laptop is a HP 15 R205TU, which I have been using since May 2015.

Testing Sophos Home on laptop, might revert to Avast Free if it shows signs of lagging. I use VMWare Player to test new software on a Windows 7 64-bit virtual machine.

Ashwin

Level 1
Thread author
Verified
Feb 16, 2014
Zemana Antimalware add to On-demand
HTTPS everywhere for browser.
Thanks for sharing.

Thanks, I appreciate the suggestions. :)

I do have a ZAM Lifetime license for helping them with the beta test. But over time, I have been reducing the amount of security software and relying on my own expertise (former Acer tech support agent here) to stay safe. Been using Windows since 3.1, yet to get a single malware infection. :)

I do get an occasional PUP flagged by MBAM, and that's because it hates Auslogics and Iobit products.Ha ha.

No offense, but HTTPS everywhere is a massive resource hog, which I observed for a long time with addons-memory. The issue has been reported on their github too. On my PC with 8GB RAM, I noticed Firefox regularly chewing up 2GB+ of memory with less than 10 tabs, and caused my PC to actually lag. Guess which add-on I disabled to fix the issue?

Currently have around 20 tabs open and the memory usage is around 1.5GB and multiple programs running in the background. Though the dev says the Firefox memory issue has been fixed, I still experience memory leaks with it. :(

Ashwin

Level 1
Thread author
Verified
Feb 16, 2014
Very nice setup.
You can try Kaspersky TAM mode for a default-deny solution if you want better zero-day protection.
Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks :). Read a bit about it on Kaspersky's suppor portal (FYI it's here)