ClamTK vs ESET: Who has the better detection ratio? (Linux)

ClamTK vs ESET: Who has the better detection ratio? (Linux)

• ClamTK

• ESET

Results are only viewable after voting.

LukeLovesSecurity

Level 4
Thread author
Verified
Jul 28, 2017
I am looking to switch to Ubuntu, and one of my concerns is security. I know Ubuntu itself is secure, and I've seen videos on how to use GUFW, AppArmor, and Firejail. However, I want a scanner for peace of mind, and because I'm kinda paranoid.

It has come down to two antivirus options. Since I am a noob, I want a GUI, so Sophos and ClamAV is out of the question. Other Linux antivirus's have disappeared such as Avast and Panda. There is also Comodo, but their signatures for Windows is terrible, and I can only imagine it is worse for Linux. So it is basically down to ClamTK vs ESET.

I don't mind paying for ESET, but is it worth it? Does ESET have a better detection ratio? If not, is there any reason to use ESET over ClamTK?

Thanks in advance.

Cohen

Level 7
Verified
Well-known
May 22, 2016
Generally, you don't really need an AV on your Linux systems; the main exception to this would be servers such as mailservers.
Linux was has been built with security in mind while Windows was built with ease-of-use in mind. This article explains why you don't really need an AV when using Linux. Note to new Linux users: No antivirus needed

The best way to protect yourself on Linux is to stay up-to-date, don't install packages willy-nilly, don't run commands you don't understand and make sure you're using a good setup on your browser.

Sunshine-boy

Level 28
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Apr 1, 2017
Is it possible for the virus in windows to infect Linux?
Can malware transform between lin and win?

Reactions: Venustus

About us