Dulan Security Config

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dulan

Level 1
Thread author
Jun 15, 2017
Hi,

I would like to get some information from you guys regarding the malware analysis. I'm still a newbie in to it.At this moment I'm only looking to identify the changes that the malware does to a system without going in to the code level. I use following monitoring tools.

-Process Explorer
-Autoruns
-Process Monitor
- Windows inspection tool set.

I would like to get any recommendation for registry monitoring tool which can actually track all the registry changes made by the malware process. I tried Regmon but it's quite difficult to isolate only the registry changes made by the malware. Also I would like to know a good tool identify the exact tcp connection the malware process make to the outside. Also a good file motioning tool might be helpful as well.

Mean time I'm going through the threads and checking out the tools you guys are using.

Any help here would be much appreciated.

Dulan

Level 1
Thread author
Jun 15, 2017
I do agree with you but I believe Veeam is not free. I think I can easily use windows backup and do a baremetal backup. But if Veeam is free that would be awesome as it is one of the best backups in the market.

Winter Soldier

Level 25
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Feb 13, 2017
About registry monitoring tool I suggest you RegShot, I used it and I can say that it is a good solution.

From Softpedia:

"RegShot is a handy little tool that enables you to view the exact changes made in the Windows registry entries, by taking snapshots at different moments and comparing the “before” and “after” registry log files."

RegShot Download

frogboy

In memoriam 1961-2018
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Jun 9, 2013
I do agree with you but I believe Veeam is not free. I think I can easily use windows backup and do a baremetal backup. But if Veeam is free that would be awesome as it is one of the best backups in the market.