Dirk41

Level 17
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Mar 17, 2016
hi everyone.
I read some of your threads about extensions like lastpass. I am not an expert and I was wondering about the purpouse and how much these extensions are usefull.
1) I suppose that if you use only your memory , you can't create many different and strong pw;unless you write them on paper;
2)I suppose these extensions are useful against keyloggers (even if i am not sure how do they work: memo all that you type?)
3) even if they save you from keloggers,couldn't someone force lastpass(or others) and so have all your pw?

I'd really appreciate if you could clarify these things

looking forward to hearing from you

thank you

Last edited:
H

hjlbx

1. The point of a password manager is for convenience, but more importantly, to use it to create really strong passwords; unfortunately the vast majority of people only use them for convenience.

2. Extensions - in and of themselves - are not protected against keylogging - unless - anti-logging protection is built-in (and I don't know of any with anti-logging protection built-in).

3. Someone could hack your browsing session, your system and\or your password manager account - but that would be highly unlikely. Also, if keylogger somehow manages to get onto your system, then all your personal datas - including passwords - could be compromised.

If you are worried about keylogging, then I suggest KeyScrambler or SpyShelter free. Zemana Anti-Logger free is good too.