Windows_Security

Level 23
Verified
Trusted
Content Creator
There are so many linux distro's and nearly as many discussions on what's the best, the lightest or what desktop is the most beautiful.

My advice is:
  1. First google for "best lightweight Linux Distro", you get heaps of results to learn what would be best for your situation.
  2. Then start to google for user forums and experiences to get an idea on ease of installation and fixing problems
  3. Try a few distro's using USB or Live-CD to experience it yourself.
The reasons I choose for Linux Lite on Intel hardware is:
  1. The fact that Intel also offers Linus Lite on its NUC's (Installing Linux Lite* for Intel® NUC )
  2. Linux Lite is lightweight & Ubuntu based
  3. Linux Lite purpose (according to developers) is " to introduce Windows users to Linux".
I am not an expert, so I can't tell you pro's or con's of different unix flavours, I posted my experience on this forum:
(Linux - My "Linux Lite setup" to replace old Windows systems )

Last edited:

bribon77

Level 33
Verified
The best for the specifications you have, would be Lubuntu or Xubuntu. but there are infinite Linux distributions. These are based on Ubuntu and there is more information in case you have a problem.:giggle:

Maybe Linux Mint Mate is more friendly and also based on Debian/Ubuntu.:giggle:

Last edited:

Deckard

Level 1
Manjaro is great for beginners. All you have to do is install 'pamac' (software manager) and enable AUR and you are good to go.

If OP want stability and wouldn't recommend ubuntu.
The beginner will install AUR package, and again and again and the problems will start.
Proposing a rolling release as the first distribution is not a serve and will disgust the beginner with Linux.
To add with a personal touch, IMO, Manjaro is the Linux of the one "who wants but who can't". I tried and I was in this case; I don't blame anyone.