Good security setup for a new pc

waterfall

Thread author
Aug 28, 2013
I bought my new pc parts 2 days, it's only a matter of hours before it arrives today, Id like to install a good security setup once i get everything ready, im no expert when it comes to those stuff, so please share your knowledge with me :)

Ink

Administrator
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Jan 8, 2011
For Online Banking, I recommend Trusteer Rapport. Check your browser has no suspicious extensions/add-ons, or try using the browser in Incognito/inPrivate mode. HTTPS Everywhere is a good extension to keep check connections are encrypted. Bookmark you trusted sites, so alarms should ring if you have to login through a different site (Phishing) - not to scare you or anything.

I see you're using Windows 7, so an Antivirus will be sufficient with an 'if-you-want' third-party Firewall.

And welcome! :)

Amiga500

Level 12
Verified
Jan 27, 2013
For online banking or any other financial transactions i would suggest using a different browser altogether from the usual day to day browser with no extensions installed and preferably in a virtual environment.

MalwareVirus

Level 1
Oct 6, 2012
For online banking i will choose
Linux (on thumb drive) OR Sandboxie+Emet+dedicated browser(with HTTPS everywhere)
For dedicated browser Chrome is better.

Raptor is also good choice but i think it is not working globally yet, as i see Bank names they ask me before downloading.

waterfall

Thread author
Aug 28, 2013
I'll get emsisoft emergency kit for on demand scanning, which free a/v/IS suite would be better to get :D?

Ink

Administrator
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Jan 8, 2011
EEK is a hefty download and (IMO) not worth it, unless you're constantly troubled with malware.

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware should be sufficient for on-demand scanning, for a second-opinion HitmanPro (no need to activate it, un-check Cookie scanning).
http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free/