How often I should upgrade to a new phone, first time smart phone owner

carl fish

Level 7
Thread author
Verified
Mar 6, 2012
I am a first-time Android smartphone owner and I have some questions

I have a s 8 and really like it I was just wondering how often I should upgrade to a new phone?
when android stops receiving software updates can you still install apps and get app updates or should you upgrade to a new phone or wait until the phone's battery dies for example?
can smartphones, in general, last up to seven years or it is more like four or five years?

Last edited:

AlanOstaszewski

Level 16
Verified
Top Poster
Malware Hunter
Jul 27, 2017
I've been using my Huawei y625 for 3 years now. It is a cheap mobile phone for 100€. The screen cannot break because it is made of plastic and it cannot scratch because there is a cover. Additionally only Android 4 runs on it, you won't find a rom for this phone. And will I change it? No :p Because the battery lasts 5 days (if you lock all Google stuff and use F-Droid instead) and the phone does what I need it for. Of course Android 4 is very old, but if I only use two apps a week, it's enough.
Back to your phone. The S8 is very new and will probably last a long time. I suggest you change it if the screen breaks or if the battery doesn't last long. If the phone seems slow to you, you can still reset it to factory settings. I think it will last 5 years if you're not a power user who charges the phone after every day. In the end, it's your decision, too. If you always want the latest, you'll probably have to change your phone every year.

Marko :)

Level 20
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Aug 12, 2015
Depends from person to person.

I, personally, change my phone when:
  • it stops working
  • apps stop recieving updates
  • battery doesn't last long