How serious is this? (Layman)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dr.Lipschitz

New Member
Thread author
Apr 28, 2022
2
I got an email with the subject as one of my passwords. Obviously this alarmed me, I opened it and it said this.
I know *[redacted]* is one of your password on day of hack..
Lets get directly to the point.
Not one person has paid me to check about you.

You do not know me and you're probably thinking why you are getting this email?
in fact, i actually placed a malware on the adult vids (adult porn) website and you know what, you visited this site to experience fun (you know what i mean).


When you were viewing videos, your browser started out operating as a RDP having a key logger which provided me with accessibility to your display and web cam.


immediately after that, my malware obtained every one of your contacts from your Messenger, FB, as well as email account.


after that i created a double-screen video. 1st part shows the video you were viewing (you have a nice taste omg), and 2nd part displays the recording of your cam, and its you.
Best solution would be to pay me $4806.


We are going to refer to it as a donation. in this situation, i most certainly will without delay remove your video.



My -BTC -address : 1NEQwZ5VkNQAo2hRHyWewLX4Vq3kR7amog
[case SeNSiTiVe, copy & paste it]


You could go on your life like this never happened and you will not ever hear back again from me.
You'll make the payment via Bitcoin (if you do not know this, search 'how to buy bitcoin' in Google).
if you are planning on going to the law, surely, this e-mail can not be traced back to me, because it's hacked too.


I have taken care of my actions. i am not looking to ask you for a lot, i simply want to be paid.

if i do not receive the bitcoin; in 24hrs, i definitely will send out your video recording to all of your contacts including friends and family, co-workers, and so on.
Nevertheless, if i do get paid, i will destroy the recording immediately.
If you need proof, reply with Yeah then i will send out your video recording to your 15 contacts.
it's a nonnegotiable offer and thus please don't waste mine time & yours by replying to this message.

(End of email)

This is embarrassing but yes I believe this stemmed from me looking at porn on one of my tablets. I actually had anti porn software on all my devices because I'm trying to quit but I had factory reset one of my tablets to look at porn a few days. My question is, is this a real person or a robot type message because they actually knew my real password. Obviously I can't afford and wouldn't pay them the $4806 so is this for real? It's already been 24 hours but I don't really talk to anyone from when I last had a facebook 5 years ago so I wouldn't know if they received a video of me looking at porn. Im not too worried about it because it's kind of petty and yeah it's embarrassing but alot of people do it. I'm more worried about my overall personal information and future presence on the internet. Should I be worried are these people dangerous? I received this email and another one in my spam folder saying the same thing but in the other one they were asking for $4811 in that email. The sender address was two different ones. How worried should I be do they have access to all my info? Are they able to hack my phone somehow just by knowing who I am? I don't even have a facebook but I do believe Facebook is hardwired into these devices sometimes and they might have gotten my old contacts somehow. Is this a common template for a scam, have I been targeted by a lone hacker or some kind of group? Any info would be greatly appreciated as far as what this is and what steps I should take to protect myself in my cyberspace.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

nasdaq

Moderator
Verified
Staff member
Nov 5, 2019
743
Hello, Welcome to MalwareTips.
I'm nasdaq and will be helping you.

If you can please print this topic it will make it easier for you to follow the instructions and complete all of the necessary steps in the order listed.
===

This looks like a phishing attack.

Never reply to these messages. You did well.

For your peace of mind I can check your computer for any traces of malware.
I do not think that we will find something but let's be safe.

Download the Farbar Recovery Scan Tool (FRST).
Choose the 32 or 64 bit version for your system.
and save it to a folder on your computer's Desktop.
Ensure that you are in an Administrator Account
Double-click to run it. When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
Check the boxes as seen here:
L7kNU5y.jpg

Press Scan button.
It will make a log (FRST.txt) in the same directory the tool is run. Please copy and paste it to your reply.
The first time the tool is run, it makes also another log (Addition.txt). Please attach it to your reply.

How to attach a file to your reply:
In the Reply section in the bottom of the topic Click the "more reply Options" button.
[img=[URL]http://deeprybka.trojaner-board.de/eset/eng/attachlogs.png[/URL]]

Please attach the logs for my review.
How to attach a file to your reply:
In the Reply section in the bottom of the topic Click the "more reply Options" button.
[img=[URL]http://deeprybka.trojaner-board.de/eset/eng/attachlogs.png[/URL]]

Please post the logs for my review.

Let me know what problems persists.

Wait for further instructions

p.s.

The Farbar program is updated often.
If it's identified as suspicious by your Anti-Virus program trust it if Downloaded from the link I provided.
You should restore the program from the Quarantine folder.
<<<>>>
 
  • Like
Reactions: Gandalf_The_Grey

Dr.Lipschitz

New Member
Thread author
Apr 28, 2022
2
Yes but I stated in the post it was on my tablet not computer. Also how did they know my password in the subject and email if it was just phishing?
 

nasdaq

Moderator
Verified
Staff member
Nov 5, 2019
743
Hi,

They probably use that site to do some Phishing

You probably gave your password or some personal information before you could access the site.

You can check if your password is identified in this forum.

p.s.

I had an experience a few months ago.

I do a lot of seach when confronted with a new malware.

To protect agains sites that can compromite my computer my Norton 360 indiscate if the site is safe or not.
I click on a site that looked as safe. (may be Norton did not have the latest information) will never know. Think change very fast on the Internet.

To make a story short, as soon as I clicked the link my computer froze, with a sound like a horn an a message not to close my computer otherwise all my files would be deleted. They were also asking for some $.
Not being able to do anything at the time I power down the computer and restarted.

I restarted the computer and all was normal.
I check my computer for malware and all was well.

Had this message been sent to any by standers the outcome would have been different.

If you need help check your Table I can only suggest you start a topic in this Forum. The Farbar program I suggested will not work on it.

Stay safe.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Gandalf_The_Grey
Status
Not open for further replies.