Advice Request How to become a cyber security expert? How to get started? Where to begin?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

SumTingWong

Level 28
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Apr 2, 2018
How to become a cyber security expert? How to get started? Where to begin?

I'm interested to become a cyber security and I'm in my 1st year of community college, so I would like to try out some basic tools for cyber security at home to see if I can handle it. But I am lost right now on where to begin, how to get started, etc........

Reactions: Electr0n

RoboMan

Level 34
Verified
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Jun 24, 2016
Hey! To start with, there is plenty of information online: Google, Youtube, e-books. I recommend, to introduce on the cybersecurity world and become an "expert" to take known professional courses, starting from the most basic ones (some may be found online, just search for "Free CyberSecurity Courses") to medium and advanced courses.

Some interesting companies that offer amazing courses (some are online, still paid)

• ESET
  • Fortinet
  • Cisco
  • CEH (Certificate for Ethical Hacker)

SumTingWong

Level 28
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Apr 2, 2018
Hey! To start with, there is plenty of information online: Google, Youtube, e-books. I recommend, to introduce on the cybersecurity world and become an "expert" to take known professional courses, starting from the most basic ones (some may be found online, just search for "Free CyberSecurity Courses") to medium and advanced courses.

Some interesting companies that offer amazing courses (some are online, still paid)

• ESET
  • Fortinet
  • Cisco
  • CEH (Certificate for Ethical Hacker)

Do you have the link to those?

Reactions: Electr0n

00alex00

Level 1
Apr 16, 2018