Windows 10 [How to] Clean Install and Activate Windows 10

Umbra

Level 85
Content Creator
Trusted
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
17,968
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Default-Deny
#1
hi , as the title says , there is how to do.

1- Upgrade Part

This procedure is useful only if you do an upgrade to Win10 from a legit licensed and activated Win7/8 PC.

a- You must have Win7/8 or above installed and activated with a legit license.
b- Go inside Win7/8
c- Then you must do an upgrade to windows10 via Windows Update (or via an ISO from Win10 by inserting the media containing Win10 > open > and run "setup.exe").



d- Follow the installation procedure.
e- When the installation is finished, your win7/8 license will be transferred and modified as a Win10 license. this license will automatically activate Win10 when you will connect to internet.




2- Clean Install part:


You must have done a dvd or usb containing the official Windows10 ISO from microsoft.

here the Link : Microsoft's Media Creation Tool

- Be sure to select the proper version , the same one as your in 7/8 version. example: windows 7 or 8 Home = Windows 10 home )

a- insert the dvd or usb containing the Win10 ISO
b- Go into the Boot menu and select the device that will run the ISO, exit and reboot.
c- Now your PC should load the Windows10 installer.
d- Follow the procedure.
e- Skip all "enter your license" prompts (you should have 2-3 prompts)
f- Once in Windows10 , check if you are activated (go to Control Panel > System > Scroll to bottom) , if not , click the "Activate" button.
g- You should be activated and can npw perform as many clean install as you want.




thanks :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2014
Messages
912
#2
a silly question... have you tried with another type of license? e.g: retail or mak? i dont wanna do this because the oem version of my pc is windows starter so bahh, dont want to have windows home version
 

Umbra

Level 85
Content Creator
Trusted
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
17,968
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Default-Deny
#3
not tried with retail, but it should work in the same way.
 

Rolo

Level 18
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
857
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Bitdefender
#4
That is one shiny screen.

I hope you activated it with the hardware you plan on keeping "for the supported life of the device"! (which I still have to shuffle some hardware around before activating)
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2014
Messages
912
#6
i will try to.. but i dont want to have problem with drivers, recent compilations of windows 10 had some issues with my old windows 8 drivers... that is why i downgraded my pc...
 
Likes: MrExplorer

Umbra

Level 85
Content Creator
Trusted
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
17,968
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Default-Deny
#7
That is one shiny screen.

I hope you activated it with the hardware you plan on keeping "for the supported life of the device"! (which I still have to shuffle some hardware around before activating)
yep, it is a laptop so...

Pretty reflective screen.
indeed , and the sun behind me doesn't help lol
 
Likes: MrExplorer

jamescv7

Level 61
Trusted
Joined
Mar 15, 2011
Messages
12,638
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Microsoft
#8
Process with OEM is never became complicated as license bound to hardware (8/8.1). For me likely to upgrade on its official day to lessen the most possible bugs to exist. ;)
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
4,055
#9
hi , as the title says , there is how to do.

This procedure is useful only if you do an upgrade to Win10 RTM 10240 from a legit OEM licensed and activated win8.1.1 PC.

1- You must have Win8.1 Update 1 installed and activated.
2- You must have a ISO from Win10 RTM 10240
3- load Win8.1U1
4- Insert the media containing the iso, open it and click on "setup".
5- follow the installation procedure. (don't select "update", choose "keep settings & files" )



6- when the installation is finish, your OEM will automatically activate Win10 RTM when you will connect to internet.



now you can enjoy Win10 ;)

Thanks :D
Does this works with Win 7?

And can this method be used with official iso once released i.e load Win 7 & run the setup from the iso i.e no need to upgrade through windows updates?
 

Rolo

Level 18
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
857
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Bitdefender
#10
I would upgrade and make my own ISO (won't have to enter keys when doing a fresh install).

Yea, my OEM laptop..still going to change the hardware before release. It's a really nice gaming laptop (MSI GT70 Dominator 2PC) but it did not come with an SSD. It is painful. I don't use it much but when I do, I swear something is wrong with it because it is so slow! I'll also wait to see if there's a BIOS update first too.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
4,055
#11
I would upgrade and make my own ISO (won't have to enter keys when doing a fresh install).

Yea, my OEM laptop..still going to change the hardware before release. It's a really nice gaming laptop (MSI GT70 Dominator 2PC) but it did not come with an SSD. It is painful. I don't use it much but when I do, I swear something is wrong with it because it is so slow! I'll also wait to see if there's a BIOS update first too.
How to make your own ISO?
 

Sloth

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
210
#14
Bit the bullet and upgraded from Win 7 Pro SP1 (retail key) to 10240 using the ISO available in the Internet.

Upgrade process went smooth and now posting this from 10. It says windows is activated. 10 is smoother, crisper & responsive than 7. There is no looking back. :D
 

Umbra

Level 85
Content Creator
Trusted
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
17,968
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Default-Deny
#15
updated my guide: just installing Win8 also works , i guess win7 also, just need to be activated with legit license.
 
Likes: Koroke San

Sloth

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
210
#16
lol, back to Win 7. Motherboard drivers are not yet available for Win 10. :oops:

ESET Smart Security HIPS does not work with build 10240. In their forum they have posted that Win 10 supported version will be released next week.

What I learned is that the best thing is to wait till the official release. :p
 

Sloth

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
210
#18
I'm pretty sure that the license gets activated during the upgrade itself. AFAIK, there is only one update available as of now after installing build 10240.
 

Sloth

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
210
#20
Yes, MS will provide an option to make an ISO which you can use to perform a clean install. But those steps are not yet available yet. It should be available after the official launch.
 

Similar Threads

Similar Threads