How to get started as a Malware Analyst?

Shade

Thread author
Jun 9, 2015
Sorry if this is posted in the wrong section.

A little about me: I'm going to be a sophomore in the fall at university, my major is Computer Science (Information Assurance). I've been interested in malware/antivirus since the sixth grade. I remember removing the McAfee security software from my family computer and replacing it with other vendors (kaspersky, bitdefender, eset, etc). I also used to watch youtube reviews of said vendors and other antimalware software, and have just recently acquired my own Virtual Machine and I install malware on there and use different products to see which can best remove the malware.

Anyway, how would you suggest I go about becoming a malware analyst? I've made a list of books to study (pratical malware analysis, art of memory forensics, malware rootkits, botnets: a beginners guide, etc). I also like to read kaspersky's theatpost and malwarebytes' blog, any other tips to get me started in my dream career?

Reactions: Cats-4_Owners-2

cruelsister

Level 42
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Apr 13, 2013
Shade-

1). Study. When you're finished studying, study more (straight A's mandatory).
2). For Electives, look to either Business Administration or Finance.
3). Apply for a MS program, preferably at an institution with Ivy on the walls.
4). Before you finish, they will come to you. Get a copy of either ComputerWorld or CRN. They have a few times a year listings of the fastest growing Security companies. Do a bit of research and pick one of these. As they grow, so will you.
5). Blow them off until you finish your Masters, then when they come back,
6). Wear a really short skirt at the interview.

Cats-4_Owners-2

Level 39
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Well-known
Dec 4, 2013
Shade-

1). Study. When you're finished studying, study more (straight A's mandatory).
2). For Electives, look to either Business Administration or Finance.