HTTPS/SSL Scanning by security software good or bad?

• Thread starter Deleted member 2913
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Deleted member 2913

Thread author
I dont know HTTPS/SSL scanning by security software good or bad as I am not that technical sound. Few security software like Avast, Eset, etc... have HTTPS/SSL scanning enabled by default...Install their own certificates.

Few months back when the issue came to light or I got to know I was running Avast & disabled HTTPS/SSL scanning in Avast.
Software I install if has HTTPS/SSL scanning I disable it or use other software. Like I replaced Avast & currently running Windows Defender on Win 10 & replaced Adguard with uBlock Origin.

Do you keep HTTPS/SSL scanning enabled/disabled or use other software?

Whats you guys take on this?

Reactions: Logethica

CMLew

Level 23
Verified
Well-known
Oct 30, 2015
I run everything on AV/IS by default mostly. Is it that a concern? or Should that be a concern?

D

Deleted member 178

Thread author
I run everything on AV/IS by default mostly. Is it that a concern? or Should that be a concern?

This is not bad but not good :D

Every piece of software you run "should" be tweaked to fit your system; especially AVs , their default setting is made to avoid any complications during install and first use but later you will see that the protection it offers is at best "average" and can't protect you efficiently against sophisticated malwares.

Do you keep HTTPS/SSL scanning enabled/disabled or use other software?
Whats you guys take on this?

i always use it if possible. They are made to protect against MITM attacks.

CMLew

Level 23
Verified
Well-known
Oct 30, 2015
This is not bad but not good :D