I want to add another tool to my arsenal

UsernameAffair

Level 1
Thread author
Aug 27, 2017
Hello, I am not a novice computer user, but would like advice on adding another program to help protect against malware, I have never used any HIPS, SRP etc.. Only have ever been a AV user

So I currently have Avast and sandboxie, but have been looking more in depth at other options such as: HIPS, software restriction policy, anti executable and BB etc.. But not sure which is right for me, I only want to use one more of the aforementioned.

shmu26

Level 85
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Jul 3, 2015
Research and try out different options and see what's best for your needs. VoodooShield is a popular and effective and free tool, why not start there? It won't mess up your system. If you decide you don't like it, you just uninstall it and life goes on.

If you don't want headaches, and lots of remnants left on your system after uninstall, then stay away from Comodo Firewall.

AlanOstaszewski

Level 16
Verified
Top Poster
Malware Hunter
Jul 27, 2017
Does anyone use a Heimdal Pro? Is it a good to protect a system against malware/ransomware
Heimdal Pro concentrate on proactive security. I know from reviews that this product isn't good.
The website says that Heimdal blocks attacks that AV's doesn't block. So it is a product that need to work with a second AV.

UsernameAffair

Level 1
Thread author
Aug 27, 2017
You could have a look at VoodooShield™ - The User-Friendly Toggling Computer Lock. it is a very handy tool to have.

Also you could fillout all the fields in the SCW so more help could be applied.

I'll try it out, thanks. What do you mean by SCW?

Research and try out different options and see what's best for your needs. VoodooShield is a popular and effective and free tool, why not start there? It won't mess up your system. If you decide you don't like it, you just uninstall it and life goes on.