Advice Request Leaving years of web development and getting into cybersecurity in my 30s

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

immapressit

Thread author
Feb 7, 2020
I've always been drawn to hacking and cybersecurity in general, but few years ago I seriously got interested in, and involved myself with, cryptocurrencies in various ways, which raised my awareness for privacy and anonymity much higher than usual, so I had to get involved in this field more seriously now.

I am 33 years old computer science college dropout and I have 7+ years of professional experience as frontend developer. When I was 4 exams away from graduation, two business opportunities presented themselves within the span of couple of weeks. The first offer was system administrator at the national library in the capital city of a country I live in. The second one was remote work as frontend developer. Both of these are my passions, but I chose frontend development back then and that was my first official job in IT. After a month it was clear to me that I'm either gonna have to leave work and finish college, which I was only 4 exams away from graduation, or irrationally drop out from college and continue working. I dropped out and never looked back at my formal education ever again.

Fast forward, here I am today. A 33 years old frontend developer with no wife and kids, and with a good salary. However, a day does not go by without thinking about that first gig offer as system administrator and what would my life be like if I chose that path. I think that gig was pretty much rigged in my favor back at the time, since my friend already worked there and he had some experience already. I was just a Linux enthusiast and it seemed to me that my friend was ready to drag me along with him through work until I get all the ropes, because I sure as hell wasn't qualified as system administrator back then by skills and expertise (I'm still not).