lukeyj85 security config

Status
Not open for further replies.

lukeyj85

Level 1
Thread author
Oct 3, 2017
Just curious what people thought of this set up and how secure it is. I am new to being more serious about this and just setting things up properly as my AVG Free did not block behaviours or detect my recent malware. I did have BD Anti-Ransomware but it conflicted with Emsisoft as it has an Anti-Ransomware Protection as well.

Also interested in any recommendations to change to only free software but am aware most do not encompass all areas e.g. I would need an AV, an Anti-Ransomware, perhaps a BB etc. If my options are to pay for Emsisoft or run 4 or more programs to do the same thing I will just pay for a subscription.

Any information on enhancing security through a VPN that is somehow both free and trusted would be appreciated as well.

Thanks.

Reactions: Daljeet

Exterminator

Community Manager
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Oct 23, 2012
What was your recent malware problem?
Implement some type of system backup solution.Consider backing up important data to an external drive also.
Consider adding an additional on demand scanner(s).
Make sure CCleaner is updated to the most recent version.
Apart from the lack of a system & data backup solution your config is secure.
Thanks for sharing your config :)

Captain Awesome

Level 23
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
May 7, 2016
I think you should create a system image with a software such as Macrium Reflect or Aomei Backupper, both have a free and reliable version you could use.:)
Add ondemand scanner like zemana antimalware or Hitman pro.(y)
Update CCleaner to the most recent version.:)

Bleak

Level 4
Verified
Well-known
Sep 5, 2017
Your current config looks ok, but you may consider adding more on demand scanner, you have options such as Hitmanpro, Zemana, NPE, AviraCleaner etc.