Solved MyCouponSmart and SearchMine removal for mac

Infected operating system
Mac OS X
Infected device issues
Automatic redirection to certain websites (Yahoo mainly)
WebCam turning on (may be unrelated)
No black dots under open applications in the dock
Dock not automatically staying up (it was before)

funsch

Thread author
Jan 22, 2020
Hi!
I've spent a while trying to remove SearchMine as the default browser and the browser extension MyCouponSmart (both of these showed up at the same time) for Google Chrome. I've tried a lot of different things and nothing seems to be working. The virus seems to be only contained within Google Chrome. This is the first virus I've ever gotten and I'm far from an expert. Is there any way to fix this? MalwareBytes doesn't seem to be helpful with this even though it's a virus.
Thanks in advance!

Jack

Administrator
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Jan 24, 2011
Hello and welcome to MalwareTips!
Can you copy chrome://policy into the URL bar and click Enter, then check if there are policies loaded in Chrome.

funsch

Thread author
Jan 22, 2020
Thanks for replying. Here's a screenshot.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2020-01-22 at 7.00.50 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-01-22 at 7.00.50 PM.png
    293.6 KB · Views: 393

Jack

Administrator
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Jan 24, 2011
Ok, let's fix this:
First, let's check if there's any malicious Profile installed on your mac. To do this go to System Preferences > search for Profiles (if you cannot find any icon that means that you don't have any, which is normal). If you find the Profiles icon, click on it and use the minus "-" sign to remove all profiles.

Next:
  1. Open a new Terminal window: Finder > Go > Utilities > Terminal
  2. Enter the following commands, pressing enter after each line:
    Code:
    defaults write com.google.Chrome HomepageIsNewTabPage -bool false
    defaults write com.google.Chrome NewTabPageLocation -string "https://www.google.com/"