Need help configuring Outpost Internet Security Pro.

Status
Not open for further replies.

grimreaper1014

Level 3
Thread author
Jul 9, 2011
Hello,

I recently changed from Bitdefender Internet Security 2012 to Outpost Internet Security. I did not like the way Bitdefender slowed down web browsing due to problems with the HTTP scanner. I have very minimal experience with Outpost. I am trying to make sure I am configured and secured properly. I am connected to a Netgear WNR3500L flashed to TomatoUSB. I do not use file sharing or print sharing with any of the other computers that are connected. So far all settings in Outpost are at their default settings. I also have Kingsoft PC Doctor installed as a on demand scanner. I am using Windows 7 x64. Could someone please offer me some suggestions on how to configure Outpost or point me to a guide? As I have mentioned I am new to this suite and it seams like there is a lot to take in. When I peaked in the settings option there is a lot of stuff I know nothing about. I figured the best bet would be to post here. I am just tired of worrying about virus's etc. I really need you guys help with this problem. I tried to give as much information as I could. If there is any other information needed please let me know. Thanks in advance everyone, and I greatly appreciate it.

~Grim

Jack

Administrator
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Jan 24, 2011
What did you chose at the first installation screen ?
3mhtB.png

It's good to know that this product has a very good prevention rate however a not so great detection rate as they are using the VBA32 av engine..
Also you should start a thread in this forum > http://malwaretips.com/Forum-Security-Configuration-Wizard , as a true system protection is achieved via multiple layers and we need to know a few other things like your general computer knowledge level.

grimreaper1014

Level 3
Thread author
Jul 9, 2011