Tuanton32

Hi, I am new to MalwareTips and hope to increase my knowledge about internet security generally from more experienced members. Hope this post is in correct place if not please advise where to move it to.
I only use PC mainly for general browsing and internet banking and its here where I need a bit of advice right now. I have been using Kaspersky IS and my subscription is about to finish in a couple of days. I've had a couple of problems with Kaspersky Safe Money where payment has not gone through and am looking to try an alternative - thinking maybe F-Secure. Also wonder if having a good AV program and adding something like Heimdal will give me enough secusrity for banking online. Would very much appreciate any recommendations/advice.

JoyousBudweiser

Level 9
Verified
1. Unlimited Giveaway - Symantec Endpoint Unmanaged without time limit
( Totally free Symantec endpoint security with a good firewall)
2.Windows defender with hard configurator or configure defender
(Download - Hard_Configurator
Update - ConfigureDefender utility for Windows 10)
3. For online security and ads blocking use NextDNS
All of the above are free products and will give you protection at par with any paid av products.
post your configuration here so that we can help you further (Computer Security Configuration)

Andy Ful

Level 65
Verified
Trusted
Content Creator
Hard_Configurator + AV with web protection (also Windows Defender with ConfigureDefender HIGH preset) would be OK if you are an advanced user. Some Ad protection is welcome too.

For most users, something like KIS with SafeMoney or BIS with Safe Pay will be the best solution. You can look at the Banking Protection tests, for example:

Another possibility is Windows Defender (with ConfigureDefender HIGH preset) and Heimdal Thor Foresight Home.

If you are not a happy-clicker, do not install many applications, and can use Standard Used Account (SUA) for daily work, then you can use Admin Account with Edge only for banking.