Latest Replies

Loading...

Latest Threads

Loading...
 

NSG001's Configuration

Discussion in 'Security Configuration Wizard' started by NSG001, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. NSG001

    NSG001 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    783
    Secondary Web Browser:
    Firefox
    Extension Used:
    HTTPS Everywhere.

    Other Plug-Ins
    k9 Web Filter

    System and Router DNS:
    Comodo DNS.

    UAC:
    Maximum.

    System Backup:
    Windows 7 Backup and Restore.

    System and Process Monitoring:
    TCPView.
    Process Hacker.
    Comodo Killswitch.

    System Housekeeping:
    BleachBit.
    Comodo Autoruns.
    Auslogics Registry Cleaner.
    Puran Defrag Free.
    Iobit Uninstaller.

    Security Toolkit (USB):
    Hiren's All in 1 BootCD.
    Malwarebyte's Chameleon
    UVK.
    Kaspersky TDSS Killer.

    Miscellaneous
    Music Player:
    foobar2k v1.2.9
    Radio/Podcasts:
    Winamp Pro 5.66
    Video Player:
    MPC-BE 1.3.0.3

    * * * * * * * * *
     
  2. Huracan

    Huracan Administrator
    Staff Member MVP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    14,146
    Likes Received:
    14,924
    Correction: If you didn't install the Antivirus, then you would be using Comodo Firewall and not CIS.

    I have found Panda URL Filter to be effective, and since I'm no fan of alternate DNS services, I can't comment on them.

    You may want to try WOT for Firefox. Overall your config looks good.
     
  3. Dieselman

    Dieselman Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    17
    So if your not running CAV then you are no longer using CIS. So your real time is only Comodo Firewall with D+. Why not use CIS to its full potential?
     
  4. WinAndLinuxTutorials

    Trusted

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,137
    Likes Received:
    143
    Use an antivirus. You can get something like AVG free, Avast, Avira.
     
  5. NSG001

    NSG001 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    783
    Hi Guys.
    I have edited my config now.
    The installation of CIS was the custom installation without AV and GeekBuddy ;)
    Awaiting CIS 6 sometime next year and will give AV another try.
    Considering a freebie AV solution as suggested.
     
  6. NSG001

    NSG001 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    783
    Cheers,
    Panda filter is exceptional. prefer this over Traffic Light which slowed down browsing a touch.
    May give WOT a whirl sometime (But use SSL Scroogle as search engine and careful what i click )
    Thankyou
     
  7. Dieselman

    Dieselman Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    17
    There is no point in install CIS if your not going to use CAV. Comodo offers each component separately. So then you should uninstall CIS and install Comodo firewall with your choice of a free av to avoid any conflicts. Installing suites and then disabling certain features is never a good practice to get into.
     
  8. NSG001

    NSG001 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    783
    The antivirus component was never installed (please read post previous) as i made a custom install.
    I am considering a freebie AV to run along side.
     
  9. Dieselman

    Dieselman Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    17
    I understand it was never installed but its good practice.This is why Comodo offers Comodo stand alone firewall. The av is still in the package. Just advice to avoid conflicts.
     
  10. NSG001

    NSG001 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    783
    Thanks for your advice, I was advised that the latest installers were packed this way to avoid such conflicts.
    Maybe I'll PM egemen at Comodo to be sure.
     
  11. Dieselman

    Dieselman Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    17
    Egemen is a good guy and your probably all set. But if that was the case then Comodo should take the separate installers off there site and everyone can just download CIS. To each his own so its your choice. If I wasn't needing an entire suite then I wouldn't download it in the first place. Have a good day.
     
  12. moonshine

    moonshine Level 4

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    195
    You're all secured. Keep everything updated and backed up.
     
  13. McLovin

    McLovin Level 36
    Trusted

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    8,245
    Likes Received:
    2,469
    OS:
    Windows 10
    AV:
    Trend Micro
    Nice config. Looks pretty solid.
     
  14. DiabloBlack

    DiabloBlack New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. ranget

    ranget New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    if i were you i will Add Avast
    Really good Free antivirus

    with other suggestion from the other Members
     
  16. NSG001

    NSG001 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    783
    Updated config considerably, now resembles Fort Knox :)
    Added avast Free / Sandboxie / BDTL / EMET 2.1 / Keyscrambler Personal and main browser Comodo Dragon 16.1
    Still puny lightweight memory config and extremely resistant.
    Thanks to all for suggestions, you have all been a mine of info :)

    Waiting on Comodo Internet Security 5.9 (due any day) until i test anything else.
    May run with this when released for a while.
     
  17. McLovin

    McLovin Level 36
    Trusted

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    8,245
    Likes Received:
    2,469
    OS:
    Windows 10
    AV:
    Trend Micro
    Question why have sandboxie when you have the inbuilt one in Avast?
     
  18. Ramblin

    Ramblin New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    130
    #1, Avast sandbox is still in baby stage.:D

    #2, The sandboxes work differently as the Avast sandbox (free version) will automatically sandbox files and programs that are classified by Avast as unknown/suspicious. Using SBIE (free version) you can choose to run sandboxed any application that you want. This is something that you can not do with the Avast sandbox.

    #3,On the paid versions, you can choose what to run sandboxed with Avast but as far as I know, files can not be saved out of the sandbox. That is a killer if you want to use a sandbox.

    Anybody using SBIE and Avast, should disable the Avast sandbox in my opinion, to avoid probable conflicts.

    Bo
     
  19. NSG001

    NSG001 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    783
    @ Mclovin, what my spokesman said :)
    avast!'s is definetly in it's infancy, feel more secure using Sandboxie.
    Don't forget the sandbox is enabled in Comodo also for any stray rogues.
     
  20. Umbra

    Umbra Moderator
    Staff Member MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14,167
    Likes Received:
    14,196
    OS:
    Windows 10
    Sandboxie'sandbox is based on full virtualization unlike CIS which is based on policies. they work differently so it is why they dont conflict each other. (this will change when CIS v6 sandbox will come with full vurtualization too)
     
Loading...
Other threads that you may like Forum Date
PC: SECURE EX(3S$ System Securiry Configuration Security Configuration Wizard Sep 22, 2016
PC: SECURE epaaeiz Security Configuration Security Configuration Wizard Sep 22, 2016
PC: SECURE Ahmet Fazıl Reis Security Configuration Security Configuration Wizard Sep 18, 2016