Advice Request Should I add Heimdal PRO to Bitdefender TS and VoodooShield Free?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brie

Level 10
Thread author
Verified
Well-known
Jan 1, 2018
i am on windows 10, fall creators update. i have an i5, 8gb DDR4 ramm. i have adguard extension with anti-malware filters.

will this be too heavy on my system?

will it replicate services?

i am a PC beginner.

D

Deleted member 65228

I'd stick to Bitdefender TS since it's a full suite and be careful about what you do. You already have AdGuard which will help fight malvertising.

Make a system image backup which you can revert to in the future should anything happen - a backup is also important to recover documents after an infection (e.g. ransomware infection).

Alternatively I'd use Heimdal PRO over Bitdefender TS. Either works.

F

ForgottenSeer 58943

Some people commenting on Heimdal don't seem to understand what it really does. Heimdal is zero-weight. Not because it doesn't do anything, but because of the way it works.

Heimdal runs a local encrypted DNSClient on the system, extremely lightweight. Then creates a loopback for DNS to the DNS Client on the 127 loopback IP address scope then forwards it to your normal DNS resolver from there after the DNS scanning and Heuristic analysis. This DNSClient is updated with the DNS databases from Heimdal Labs, which source from various non-traditional and traditional lists. This aspect of it protects your DNS from hijacking. (Smart DNS) It prevents DNS Snooping. It prevents DNS resolution for botnet/malware activity in the background. It also filters DNS for some phishing/malware domains. It does a few other handy things under the hood that are difficult to test. Not because they don't do things, but because they do things out of the experience range of most people that would test it, more towards network engineering.