Battle Sophos Free or WD + configure defender

oldschool

Level 82
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Mar 29, 2018
I'm wondering if WD + ConfigureDefender instead of Sophos Home Free would be lighter on our machine and give roughly the same protection we get now. I'm a new member and I've been using Sophos Free since November 2017 install on our old windows laptop. (i3, 4GB RAM). I've been OK with Sophos and one of the things I like about it is ease of use and web filtering. I'm a safe user but I am a novice with all things PC. Recently I saw info here about ConfigureDefender for WD and it simply got me wondering.....should I give WD a try?

enaph

Level 28
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Well-known
Jun 14, 2011
I can tell you from my own experience, that hardened WD is enough for a safe user.
Just add some second opinion scanner like HitmanPro, Zemana Anti-Malware Free or Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Free (you can even add all of them if you want) and you're good to go.

kev216

Level 21
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Aug 6, 2014
Has sophos home added quarantine feature? Otherwise it is a big no no.
Nope, not yet. However they are experimenting with quarantine in their b2b products and they'll probably add it in their b2c products too they said. On the other hand Sophos is very low on fp's. I use the free version for a year and a half now and I still have to see the first fp detected on my machine. And I download a lot.
Not that i'm against quarantine though, I've been waiting for it for so long now...
Otherwise, very good basic protection. If you know what you are doing, sophos home free is a very good product on itself already.

oldschool

Level 82
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Mar 29, 2018