Advice Request TinyWall is blocking all outgoin conections on my computer, regardless of exceptions

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

Gabo352

Thread author
May 31, 2022
For context: I got a new second hand computer in April, cause the one I had before got damaged due to power outages last year, installed windows 7, which is the same OS I used to have (I know I should probably update to a newer version, but currently I only have 2gb of RAM and I don't want my computer to be too slow), installed all of my old programs, with TinyWall being one of the first ones I installed (I've been using it for a few years, and never had to deal with any problems before), and everything was working fine: I could use my browsers and TinyWall blocked everything else that wasn't on the list of exceptions, but I could manually add new ones when needed (I mean, I still can, but it doesn't seem to do anything).

The problem started a week ago, my browsers became unable to connect to internet, with Chrome showing either ERR_NETWORK_ACCESS_DENIED or ERR_QUIC_PROTOCOL_ERROR and Internet Explorer showing 'This page cannot be displayed'. I tried removing them from TinyWall's exception list and adding them again but it doesn't change anything. The funny thing is that, when I try browsing and then I immediatly open tinywall's connections window and check 'show blocked apps (in the last 5 mins)', the list comes out empty, as if TinyWall wasn't responsible of blocking their internet access:

img1.png

In fact, there are opened ports for Chrome:
img2.png

But no established connections:
img3.png

This all changes when I change TinyWall from 'Normal mode' to 'Allow outgoing' mode; when I do, I can surf the web just fine:
img4.png

But after I go back to 'Normal mode', the connections end again. And I mean, I could just keep TinyWall on 'Allow outgoing' mode, but doesn't that defeat the purpose of having it?