Solved Trouble with "safe search" on a Mac

Infected operating system
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
Infected device issues
Something called "safe search" appears to have hijacked the Safari web browser. I've spent the morning trying various things such as looking for unwanted extensions etc but nothing found. I deleted Chrome thinking that might be the issue. (demonstrating the limits of my knowledge) I've also sent a file to Malwarebytes technical support at their request. But if you have ideas, I'd be very grateful.

Lostagain

Level 1
Thread author
Jan 21, 2020
Hello Jack, and thank you for your offer of help - most kind. I'm not tech savvy but usually willing to have a go. Hopefully, this thread will be easily found by others with the same issue.

Reactions: [correlate]

Jack

Administrator
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Jan 24, 2011
Ok, let's see what's going on. Let's do a basic check:

1. Are there any malicious profiles installed on your Mac? To check:
  1. Go to System Preferences.
  2. Click Profiles.
  3. If there is any suspicious profile, select it and click the remove “” button in the lower-left corner. If there isn’t a Profiles icon, you don’t have any profiles installed, which is normal.
2. Let's see what's going on with Safari:

1. In Safari, choose Preferences from the Safari menu.
  2. In the window that opens, click the General icon (if necessary)
  3. Questions:
    • What's your homepage?
    • What it says in the " New windows open with " field?

Lostagain

Level 1
Thread author
Jan 21, 2020
Ok, let's see what's going on. Let's do a basic check:

1. Are there any malicious profiles installed on your Mac? To check:
  1. Go to System Preferences.
  2. Click Profiles.
  3. If there is any suspicious profile, select it and click the remove “” button in the lower-left corner. If there isn’t a Profiles icon, you don’t have any profiles installed, which is normal.
2. Let's see what's going on with Safari: