Tutorial What are the Microsoft Security Development Lifecycle (SDL) practices?


Level 6
Thread author
Nov 21, 2022

The Security Development Lifecycle (SDL) consists of a set of practices that support security assurance and compliance requirements. The SDL helps developers build more secure software by reducing the number and severity of vulnerabilities in software, while reducing development cost.

Practice #1 - Provide Training

Practice #2 - Define Security Requirements

Practice #3 - Define Metrics and Compliance Reporting

Practice #4 - Perform Threat Modeling

Practice #5 - Establish Design Requirements

Practice #6 - Define and Use Cryptography Standards

Practice #7 - Manage the Security Risk of Using Third-Party Components

Practice #8 - Use Approved Tools

Practice #9 - Perform Static Analysis Security Testing (SAST)

Practice #10 - Perform Dynamic Analysis Security Testing (DAST)

Practice #11 - Perform Penetration Testing

Practice #12 - Establish a Standard Incident Response Process

Last edited by a moderator:

About us

  • MalwareTips is a community-driven platform providing the latest information and resources on malware and cyber threats. Our team of experienced professionals and passionate volunteers work to keep the internet safe and secure. We provide accurate, up-to-date information and strive to build a strong and supportive community dedicated to cybersecurity.

User Menu

Follow us

Follow us on Facebook or Twitter to know first about the latest cybersecurity incidents and malware threats.