What do these events generated by AppGuard mean?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Online_Sword

Level 12
Thread author
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Well-known
Mar 23, 2015
Hi, I am a novice user of AppGuard, and I have a problem on it.
I find that, when I set the mode to "Medium" and update Chrome, alerts like "
Prevented <Google Chrome> from writing to <\registry\machine\software\google\update\clientstatemedium\{XXXX}>" will be shown in AG activity report.

1p20pz9.png

Although these events seem to mean that some activities of chrome are blocked, chrome can still accomplish the update process. I hope to know that what these activities of chrome mean.:)

H

hjlbx

Hi, I am a novice user of AppGuard, and I have a problem on it.
I find that, when I set the mode to "Medium" and update Chrome, alerts like "
Prevented <Google Chrome> from writing to <\registry\machine\software\google\update\clientstatemedium\{XXXX}>" will be shown in AG activity report.

1p20pz9.png

Although these events seem to mean that some activities of chrome are blocked, chrome can still accomplish the update process. I hope to know that what these activities of chrome mean.:)

The best thing to do with AppGuard is not to get too obsessive-compulsive about it blocking something and then logging it.

If nothing gets broken then simply ignore it. If something does get broken then you can create an exception by adding the blocked app to the Guarded Applications or creating an exception folder or adding the app to the Power Applications list. Which one you will need varies based upon what is being blocked.

It will be all right. If Chrome is still updating and working without issue, then just go about your computing activities.

Reactions: Online_Sword

Online_Sword

Level 12
Thread author
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Well-known
Mar 23, 2015
@hjlbx , thank you very much for your reply.
But I have not understood this: