Q&A Yandex Browser

XhenEd

Level 27
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
1,671
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Default-Deny
#9
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
113
#10
Idk, I've tried it multiple times, same result. It'll work well like the first day or two, and then it'll just fall off a cliff. Could just be client-side, like anything else.
Most browsers work well and smooth on my PC. I just have a problem with them not being able to render web pages right. Checking my CPU and RAM usage, yandex seems to use a little bit more RAM than chrome and opera.
 

HarborFront

Level 41
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
3,054
#13
Yandex 17.4.0.2461 is on Chrome 57.0.2987.2461

As expected it's one version behind the current Chrome browser
 
Likes: AtlBo

HarborFront

Level 41
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
3,054
#14
But
I love this browser. It´s a nice Chromiun based, fast and comfortable, but in my computer, Opera improves its performance in speed and RAM consumption
Opera has limited chrome extensions availability. So far Chromium uses chrome extensions without problems
 

Sunshine-boy

Level 26
Verified
Joined
Apr 1, 2017
Messages
1,589
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
ESET
#18
The build is different but they update it in their own way(so it doesn't matter)because it get updates every day.
Btw they use Sophos(Sig+Behaviour), Kaspersky and their own engine for blocking the websites.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
57
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Emsisoft
#19
I'm giving it a spin from both work and home for some time now. Security features are really neat, scan on download, tempering alerts, etc. As for speed and lightness, my current favorite is Opera, and I'm not measuring it by opening a task manager and looking at the usage - a bit pointless with todays hardware imho. As a guy with ~30+ tabs opened at an average, the feeling is it's almost as fast as Opera. Speaking of which, I'm quite irritated at the fact that there is no way of putting those tabs vertically. Opera, Firefox (haven't tested the Quantum yet), Vivaldi (I'm trying so hard to like it, but it's still missing that "someting") all have that possibility implemented one way or another. Yandex hasn't and that's the only thing that puts me off. Otherwise, I'd make a default browser in a minute.

I read some posts in other threads arguing the country it originates from. With all due respect to those members, this has nothing to do with the quality of the product. I understand personal preference, and speaking of trust, I'd sooner put mine in this one than in NSA one (whoops, USA one).

Conclusion, I think it has a really nice perspective and is great feature wise. If it, in addition, could cater to the tab freaks like me, it would be my default one.
 

HarborFront

Level 41
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
3,054
#20
I'm giving it a spin from both work and home for some time now. Security features are really neat, scan on download, tempering alerts, etc. As for speed and lightness, my current favorite is Opera, and I'm not measuring it by opening a task manager and looking at the usage - a bit pointless with todays hardware imho. As a guy with ~30+ tabs opened at an average, the feeling is it's almost as fast as Opera. Speaking of which, I'm quite irritated at the fact that there is no way of putting those tabs vertically. Opera, Firefox (haven't tested the Quantum yet), Vivaldi (I'm trying so hard to like it, but it's still missing that "someting") all have that possibility implemented one way or another. Yandex hasn't and that's the only thing that puts me off. Otherwise, I'd make a default browser in a minute.

I read some posts in other threads arguing the country it originates from. With all due respect to those members, this has nothing to do with the quality of the product. I understand personal preference, and speaking of trust, I'd sooner put mine in this one than in NSA one (whoops, USA one).

Conclusion, I think it has a really nice perspective and is great feature wise. If it, in addition, could cater to the tab freaks like me, it would be my default one.
Can you tell me where does Yandex connects to upon start up? Does it connects to Google?

Thanks
 
Likes: AtlBo