Advice Request Bitwarden - Newbie needs help

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

HarborFront

Level 71
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Content Creator
Oct 9, 2016
Newbie here. First timer using a PM.

Just installed BW on my laptop and the extension too in Ungoogled Chromium. Seems to be working fine. Definitely better and compatible than the just installed Sticky Password Manager which I have stopped using

Some questions.

Firstly, how to avoid signing in using master password each time I close (X) BW or if I shut down and restart my laptop? Similarly, if I shut down the phone and restart again or if I soft reset the phone. Shutting down the browser needs to key in the master password when I restart the browser. How to remember the long master password?

The 2nd thing is I'm kind of disappointed with the autofilling. I thought if I go to MWT here, BW should automatically detect and autofill my particulars. But it's not doing so. It displays MWT and I need to click it then it'll autofill. BW displays the same web Outlook site with 2 different accounts and allows me to select the one I want to autofill which is correct. I remember some other PM can auto-detect the website when you are there, and it'll automatically fill in the details for logging in. No more additional clicking required.

Any answers? Thanks

Last edited:

Moonhorse

Level 37
Verified
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
May 29, 2018
Not sure about the master password, you probably need to set 2 factor authentication to cover that spot

1674646630605.png

Autofilling is working normally for me

1674646480209.png

there are coming passwordless login + passkeys in this year

upnorth

Verified
Staff Member
Malware Hunter
Well-known
Jul 27, 2015