Guide | How To Fixing an Unbootable System w/ Black Screen

The associated guide may contain user-generated or external content.

Chromatinfish 123

Level 21
Thread author
Verified
May 26, 2014
These days I have a problem:Black Screens. Right before login. It was related to a faulty update in conjunction with a driver of the Dell mouse, that made the black screen happen. If you need help, please contact me (I have plenty of experience with this).

First: Unplug any attached cables and restart

Sometimes, simply disconnecting a mouse or cable is enough to cure a startup problem. The first time it happened to me, yanking the mouse solved the problem. However, sometimes it's not the solution.

Second: Restore From Safe Mode

If the above doesn't work, force-restart your computer. A window will pop up about using safe mode. Press enter on the "Safe Mode" option and navigate to system restore to restore your computer to when there was no black screen. If the black screen occurs still on restart or it occurs when boot up on Safe Mode, go to the next step.

Third: Run Chkdsk

If it even doesn't allow you to go into safe mode, run Chkdsk by tapping the F8 key and selecting the appropriate choice (Don't remember the exact name but it's something like check drivers). Restart your computer when it's done and see if it worked. If not, go to the fourth step

Fourth: Use Startup Repair

If you still can't get to the login/desktop screen, run startup repair by tapping the F8 key and selecting "Repairing Your Computer". Put in your language and fill out the form, the. Select "Repair Your System" and wait for it to finish.

Fifth: Restore Your System Using Recovery Options
This is probably the last chance to get your computer working. Do the same as the fourth step but instead select "Restore Your Computer" and wait for it to finish.

Sixth: Hardware Problem...