Advice Request Kaspersky dangerous or not

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Claudio66

Level 1
Thread author
Apr 9, 2022
Given that I am not a computer expert but a computer user with basic knowledge, and that I have never caught a virus in my life. I currently have 3 computers in use, one with Eset Nod 32, 1 with kaspersky and last I am testing Trend Micro Internet security.
Without entering politics and addressing war issues that do not interest anyone and respecting the opinions of anyone ... concretely what is the risk for a private computer owner of using Kaspersky?
I read around on the net:
a) your machine can be used to attack other computers in the event of a global attack on the network;
b) b) if Kaspersky were to be attacked by hackers from other countries, your computer and data are at risk;
c) or ?
d) no risk is a trade war.

All I tell all my friends that I have consulted tell me..to rest assured..change antivirus.
I am testing Trend Micro Internet Security and then I will switch to F Secure safe hoping to find a right solution. Bitdefender too heavy for my laptop. Eset is great but I don't like having same antivirus on all computers.
Thanks

simbatippe1234

Level 3
Oct 14, 2021
Hi @Claudio66, you should consider Bitdefender again, I use it, & my specs are not much: 8GB Ram+2.4Ghz, as far as I know, it uses about 300MB in day to day operations.
It is a fantastic AV with very good Virus/Malware capabilities not to mention a Ransomware Remediation module, fantastic UI, and much more to tell but I am not Tech-Savy.
The Pricetag is also great.
30 Days fully functional trial.
Oustanding tech support.
I have used it for 5 years now, never had any infections of any kind, and I browse some shady websites sometimes.
Thanks.:)

Shadowra

Level 34
Verified
Top Poster
Content Creator
Malware Tester
Well-known
Sep 2, 2021
Hello :)