Latest Threads

Loading...
 
  1. Welcome to MalwareTips!
    MalwareTips is a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn about PC security and computers.
    As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but you can not create new threads or reply to an existing one unless you are a registered member. By joining our free community you will have access to post threads, start private conversations with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features.
    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join us today!

no improvement in avast 7 for behaviour shield.

Discussion in 'Avast' started by malwarekiller, Apr 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. malwarekiller

    malwarekiller

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the behaviour shield is yet not improved....

    i still see the shield is not yet fully operational on auto decide it should be able to block atleast 50% of malware beahviour atleast...

    i see the behav shield records suspicious events but doesnt block them neither no alerts are displayed....why??

    I saw all this in my tests...behav shield records suspicious events but doesnt display a pop-up and neither blocks it....

    when avast sees something bad is suspicious is going on it should block it....what's the deal with that??
  2. jamescv7

    jamescv7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6,130
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Likely Behavior Shield uses heuristics analysis so therefore a file that's known to be malicious/suspicious will popup so for Sandbox feature too.

    When its set to ask a behavior popup must shown with the option.
  3. malwarekiller

    malwarekiller

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i mean if it is for the autosandbox why it should be even given as a shield.....more ever i would like to see improvements in it
  4. malbky

    malbky Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    80
    Malwarekiller just reinstall avast and see. The same thing happened with me. No alerts from avast on detecting a virus but the logs would show it. A manual scan also detected the virus. ITs relatime shields gave me no alerts nor any action was taken. Even it did not alert about Eicar.

    The solution: I reinstalled Avast IS. I later found this problem always occurred when I selected the WebReputation plugin of avast during install time.
  5. Jack

    Jack Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,936
    Media:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Trophy Points:
    498
    I do think that the behavior shield could be improved in detection , however this would mean more user interaction and possible false positive.... And I think that Avast is mainly targeting the newbies so it's not something that they would want to do....
    By default the behavior blocker is set on auto-decide and as it is , it's not a strong component in this product prevention but this can be easily change by the user if it changes the settings to 'Ask'
  6. malwarekiller

    malwarekiller

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi people!

    i am saying that the behav shield records susp events but doesnt block them when it is supposed to do it.....i have been thunking and it really seems there is some bug or something with behav shield of not displaying alerts
  7. malbky

    malbky Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    80
    Malware killer I understand your problem and check my previous post.
  8. malwarekiller

    malwarekiller

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Saw your previous post malbky...i dont have any of those problems u mention this happens for many others and not just me.
  9. malbky

    malbky Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    80
    Try reinstall a shot or switch to an Av which suits you the best. I have done jumping av's and found kaspersky gives the best detection feature set and configuration. Previously no AV lasted on my pc for more than 10days. Kaspersky has set a record 91days and counting.
  10. malwarekiller

    malwarekiller

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Avast is best for me....it suits me i am just talking about a feature in avast that seems quite silent to me
  11. NSG001

    NSG001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Posted a video from 1234avast, his setting is on 'block'
    Link HERE
  12. Huracan

    Huracan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9,782
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2,595
    Trophy Points:
    847
    I asked something similar over on Avast's Forum - Link
  13. malwarekiller

    malwarekiller

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i moved the setting to block
  14. Huracan

    Huracan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9,782
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2,595
    Trophy Points:
    847
    There's another topic being discussed (about Behaviour Shield video), some say Block isn't the recommended choice for reasons.

    You can read up more when it's updated:
    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=96724.msg771661#msg771661
  15. jamescv7

    jamescv7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6,130
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    137
    On my system the BB was set to "ask" and the first time installed 3 alerts showed a pop up: Firefox, CCE and explorer. If that case was in "block" action then it may cause trouble.

    Well its a choice, cause if you set to block and none legitimate application popup then good for you.
  16. malwarekiller

    malwarekiller

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It works for me on block....it doesnt block legit programs for me
  17. Littlebits

    Littlebits Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,854
    Likes Received:
    2,562
    Trophy Points:
    817
    Why do you need it on block setting? are you getting infected with malware with it set to ask? if so then you must be not using good habits.

    I have Avast set to auto and it works fine for me I have never got one single infection with it set to auto. Of coarse you can't expect Avast to do all the work for you, if you have bad habits you will get infected no mater what security setup you use.

    Thanks.:D
  18. malwarekiller

    malwarekiller

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry littlebits i set avast to block setting since it doesnt really matter to me...i dont do too much of installations and uninstallations....more ever if i set it to ask there are some dumb average users around the house and they dont really know how to answer questions and putting it to block just gives me a extra layer of security
  19. Littlebits

    Littlebits Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,854
    Likes Received:
    2,562
    Trophy Points:
    817
    Great answer, if you have a shared computer with novice users I can see the benefits. Of coarse if anyone uses my computer, I log off and give them the Guest account that way they can't mess things up.

    Good day.:D
  20. 1234avast

    1234avast New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    putting block as the behaviour shield option is good.... it doesn't block or deny any legit programs only detects and denies the programs it detects as suspicious events at auto decide... so putting the option to block will block everything recorded down as suspicious events when the option is on auto decide

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads: improvement avast
Forum Title Date
Avast Avast's Dynagen and DeepScreen shows improvement this week. Jan 9, 2014
Security Configuration Wizard Blades configuration (looking for improvements) Thursday at 8:28 AM
Microsoft Windows 8 Exploit Mitigation Improvements Apr 28, 2014
Security Configuration Wizard Shaun's Clients PC - Tips on improvement needed Feb 21, 2014
Mobile and Tablets Nokia rollout Lumia Black update for Windows Phone 8 + New Features & Improvements Jan 18, 2014

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
MalwareTips.com is an independent website.All trademarks mentioned on this page are the property of their respective owners.