Guide | How To The Pragmatic User.

The associated guide may contain user-generated or external content.

NullPointerException

Level 12
Thread author
Verified
Aug 25, 2014
The title is derived from the computer science book, the Pragmatic Programmer.

You, as an end user, have certain expectations from programmers. We, as the programmers, have certain expectations from you too. "Use your brain" even some advanced users say, and blame the masterpieces of code. Here are a few of my tips and my advises.

1. Don't be a sheep in a flock of sheep : Often people say "use your brain" and that "using antiviruses is bad and it slows down your computer". Well, then. How much your brain is going to defend against a group like Syrian Electrician Army? Think of it, AV software were made by brains too. Multiple brains. More often than not, the guys who work at Emsisoft or ESET have better understanding of computer science than us. I've been programming for twenty years and I've to say it's a fair comparison of me and other security researchers like Malwarebyte's CEO.
  2. Read books. A lots of them. : Just as you read books for your particular career, you should read books. Why? Do you think books read by millions of programmers around the world since two decades are worse than the advises of "?????" user in Yahoo answers? Books answer your questions. Read them. Even if you cannot buy a physical copy, most books can be acquired through the internet.
  3. Don't trust the AV pages : Countless blogs state their product's awards. It's the same scene as self-advertising. How you ever seen an Emsisoft blog promoting ESET? Or the vice-versa? Every product claims to have "the best detection rate". Some even claim that their product is "trusted by X users around the world" or "Trusted by computer experts". Do you believe those lies? I don't. Use your common sense. You don't need to have degree in computer science and social-engineering to tell the folks are lying.