Advice Request ESET: ARP cache poisoning attack

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Homerr

Level 1
Thread author
Apr 3, 2017
Hello everybody! :)

I'm an average user, I have been using ESET for many years with hardly a few blocked URLs. (Windows 7)

I scan my laptop routinely with Emsisoft emergency kit and I've never had any (serious) detections.

A few days ago, I started getting ESET warnings saying

"ARP cache poisoning attack, a computer on this network is sending malicious traffic...."

When I hover the mouse over "a computer" in the warning popup, I see the computer address, and it's my
router address!

So basically, my own router is sending malicious traffic to my laptop?

Does this mean that my router is infected or hijacked by a hacker?

Is it safe to be on my (compromised?) network? What should I do? Reset router?

Homerr

Level 1
Thread author
Apr 3, 2017
I don't know? It's a TP link router with default settings. I assume the router firewall must be on? (but I'm not really sure). I'm really sorry :oops:

I'll try to confirm that the router firewall is on, and I'll update my thread later.

Thank you so much for your help!

Last edited by a moderator:

Amelith Nargothrond

Level 12
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Mar 22, 2017
This sounds like somebody is trying to hack your router. This is done by capturing a handshake between your laptop and your router. The handshake will only take place (usually) if you get disconnected and then reconnected to the router; the attack is called ARP injection, targets directly your MAC address (this info is easily available just by monitoring the router's activity) without being connected to the router, its purpose is to get you disconnected/reconnected in order to capture that handshake (which contains your wifi password -> this is encrypted and needs to be decrypted) and can be easily detected by a good firewall.