Advice Request How much space will i need ?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weebarra

Level 17
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Apr 5, 2017
Firstly, apologies if i have posted in the wrong place.

I have been advised to do an image/system back up either using Macrium or Reflect but i was just wondering how much space i would need ? I know that may well be an unanswerable question as we all have different amounts of stuff on our pc's but if it's any help i have 175GB free on my C drive out of 232 GB (so basically i have used just under 60 GB.... i think, lol) and i have 224 GB free on my D drive out of 232 GB.

Sorry if this seems like an amateurish question by i AM an amateur :oops: The flash drive i have is only 16GB although i do have an external hard drive but would probably need to delete a lot of stuff first. Many thanks if you can help me.

Atlas147

Level 30
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Jul 28, 2014
Depends on what you'd like to back up, if you want to do your whole drive then you need about 60GB as you have calculated. Some times you are able to compress your backups so that they take up less space. Another alternative that I do is that I back up only the important files but manually choosing which files I back up. This way the back up timings are not crazy long and I have all my important information.

The files I target are my downloads folder, Documents folder and my desktop. The 3 locations that I keep most of my irreplaceable files. The rest of the program files can be replaced just by downloading them again so I'm not too afraid of losing them

Reactions: Andytay70

Weebarra

Level 17
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Apr 5, 2017