Not open for further replies.

motox781

Level 10
Thread author
Verified
Well-known
Apr 1, 2015
@Nico@FMA

Version 12.12.2.10 from local university (unmanaged client)

I don't know much about SEP. I've heard it's not good to run it on a personal home PC b/c of how bare it comes by default. I looked through the settings and everything seems setup pretty well.

Question: What should I look for to make sure it is setup properly? If I have a subscription already for Norton Security Premium, should I just use that instead?

All the firewall ports seem to be in there and enabled. Sonar, Download Insight, Intrusion Prevention, etc. seems to be checked and setup for a good default protection (I raised a couple settings up, but not much).

Thanks!

Last edited:

Svoll

Level 13
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Nov 17, 2016
From what i have read, Norton and Symantec offers same protection, one is aimed at consumers and one at business. SEP doesn't have the fancy animation, but detection and engine is similar. SEP 12.1.2 has a security flaw according to this article: Symantec and Norton Security Products Contain Critical Vulnerabilities | US-CERT so if you able to upgrade to SEP 14 or SEP 12.1.6 MP6, that would be more secure as it was patched by Symantec. Flaw was discovered by Travis from Google. (MODS and Admins, if i am not suppose to post links, Sorry, Please remove or edit my post or inform me and I will remove the link)

I had tried it as it was also free from my Uni, and its on par with most antivirus I have tried and experiment with. Their default settings are really good, on my Lab VM, professor had us uncheck all the allow firewall rules and experiment on certain networks and needs. 90% of the time, its workable for a lot of networks with all their predefined ALLOW firewall rules uncheck. Quite a fun lab session.