Tinytankerbrunks Setup

tinytankerbrunk

Thread author
Mar 9, 2011
EMET 2.0 Setup:
2lv002t.jpg

Common Practice:
I am definitely a pirated-media junkie, currently approaching 3TB of media.
I visit “IT Security” related websites often, as I'm studying for my BS in IT Security.
Questions:
Is there any gaps in my layered security approach?
If so, what can I do to improve, while still maintaining a “low-resource” usage profile, and remain free?
Is CIS and Immunet too redundant? I don’t mind it so much because all the resource usage from Immunet is done on their servers.
Can I do anything to increase wireless security?
Can I do anything to secure my Windows Home Server, and my network shares?

bogdan

Level 1
Jan 7, 2011
Thanks for sharing such a detailed config.
I feel that CIS improved the white-list sufficiently and I don't see the benefits of Clean PC Mode.
There are some vulnerabilities with the default settings in CIS. The default setting for auto-sandboxed apps allows them access to some of your data files (in My Documents for example) and ransom-ware malware could take advantage of this. To fix go to Defense+ -> Defense+ Settings -> Execution Control Settings and change Treat unrecognized files as from Partially Limited to Restricted or Untrusted. This is debatable since most application will not run sandboxed with these settings though.
I assume that you also keep an eye on the other PCs in your network.

Ink

Administrator
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Jan 8, 2011
I'm no expert, but you could only allow MAC addresses (set on router) of certain devices that you want connecting to you Network.

Installing an Internet Security Suite should be enough (for realtime protection), so I would say Immunet is not needed.

I noticed you have ClearCloud DNS and G-Data Cloud Security. How is that working out?

I think your set-up is an over-kill :p Just my opinion.

LaserWraith

Level 1
Feb 24, 2011