Advice Request What sort of issues do you face when dealing with aging laptops (ie. older than 5 years)?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

Ink

Administrator
Thread author
Verified
Staff Member
Well-known
Jan 8, 2011
What sort of issues do you face when dealing with aging laptops (ie. older than 5 years)?

I've experienced:
- battery failure
- reduced battery life
- no new updates for drivers
- slower wi-fi connectivity speeds
- general wear and tear (as expected)

ZeePriest

Level 7
Verified
Well-known
Jul 2, 2020
I had issues with my old laptop's battery going bad and then failing to supply power. I also had to change my original charger which had also stopped working. General wear and tear as expected. Other than that everything worked fine and I didn't have any slow down issues nor wifi connectivity issues.

Protomartyr

Level 7
Sep 23, 2019
I've been using my ThinkPad S1 Yoga for 6 years and it's still going strong. What I've noticed that has changed:
  • Reduced battery life (lasts around 1-2 hours unplugged)
  • No new driver updates (especially problematic if you have a driver that is not compatible with Windows build 2004)
  • General wear and tear
The battery problem can be fixed by just purchasing a battery from Lenovo and installing it myself. Luckily it's easy to order parts from Lenovo and their service manuals are very detailed. I'm still on Windows 10 1909 and haven't received any updates to build 2004 or later. Lenovo has stated that the S1 Yoga is compatible with build 2004 so I'm just waiting for my device to receive the update.