WPA3 doubts

almb

Thread author
Sep 29, 2018
Hello, I am new to the cybersecurity world and I am trying to be self taught. I came across the new WPA3 specifications and I was trying to answer myself some questions but even more doubts rose. So, I would really appreciate it if someone could give me a hand, if they know the answer, or point me in the right direction so that I can continue researching on this topic.

So, I will write what I think I have understood and the doubts that came up, if what I wrote is incorrect I would be grateful if someone could tell me so.

* Well, so, firstly, WPA3 uses AES-128 for message encryption in Personal and 192 bits in Enterprise. Thus the secret of communication is kept using this symmetric encryption protocol. As I have understood, security problems in wireless networks usually tend to rise not due to the encryption algoritm used (because using AES 128 would mean trying 2^128 combinations and given the current computing technologies this process is computationally untractable in human feasible time), but due to the password used (simple passwords would help reduce the space of possible passwords in a dictionary attack, hence the recommendations of using more elaborated pws) or due to the key sharing process (the handshake). (am i right?)

To be more precise, WPA3 uses AES-CCMP because AES alone only provides data encryption, it does not guarantee integrity or authentication, but CCMP provides both integrity because it makes sure that the original message was not tampered with, thus proving authenticity. Is this information pointing in the right direction?