Babylon Toolbar - Question about infection, do not need help removing

stardusttrails

Thread author
Jul 28, 2014
To preface briefly, I do remote tech support for a living and we remove this crap on a daily basis. Therefore, I'm not looking for assistance to remove it.

However, I'm a little confused as to how any traces are on my computer. I browse in a sandbox, run Avira Free + MBAM realtime, as well as scanning frequently with every other second option tool in the book.

After running Adware Removal Tool (a tool I really don't use often regardless, but why not) it found some references to Babylon Toolbar and PCTBrowserDefender. These are two of the six registry keys it found:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Extension Compatibility\{2A0F3D1B-0909-4FF4-B272-609CCE6054E7}
subkey DllName value PCTBrowserDefender.dll

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Extension Compatibility\{2EECD738-5844-4A99-B4B6-146BF802613B}
subkey DllName value BabylonToolbar.dll

There were a couple other keys, but all in the same area and you get the idea. A couple troubling me though are, one - I browse in a sandbox. Two - I've never used internet explorer past installing google chrome. Three - subkey FWLink value http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=265488 which redirects to babylon.com

The question to all of this is, how the hell does Babylon get on my computer this way? Miscellaneous information I can give is that Babylon is completely absent from any Internet Explorer settings, and I don't run executables that are unknown. This is a quite recent installation of windows from a retail disk. And last but not least, Add/Remove programs is clear of junk.

I appreciate if anyone could give me any insight into this.

About us