Mini Spy

Loading...
 

NSG001's Configuration

Discussion in 'Security Configuration Wizard' started by NSG001, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. NSG001

    NSG001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,924
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Secondary Web Browser:
    Firefox
    Extension Used:
    HTTPS Everywhere.

    Other Plug-Ins
    k9 Web Filter

    System and Router DNS:
    Comodo DNS.

    UAC:
    Maximum.

    System Backup:
    Windows 7 Backup and Restore.

    System and Process Monitoring:
    TCPView.
    Process Hacker.
    Comodo Killswitch.

    System Housekeeping:
    BleachBit.
    Comodo Autoruns.
    Auslogics Registry Cleaner.
    Puran Defrag Free.
    Iobit Uninstaller.

    Security Toolkit (USB):
    Hiren's All in 1 BootCD.
    Malwarebyte's Chameleon
    UVK.
    Kaspersky TDSS Killer.

    Miscellaneous
    Music Player:
    foobar2k v1.2.9
    Radio/Podcasts:
    Winamp Pro 5.66
    Video Player:
    MPC-BE 1.3.0.3

    * * * * * * * * *
  2. Huracan

    Huracan Administrator MalwareTips Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    10,122
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    3,159
    Trophy Points:
    1,197
    Correction: If you didn't install the Antivirus, then you would be using Comodo Firewall and not CIS.

    I have found Panda URL Filter to be effective, and since I'm no fan of alternate DNS services, I can't comment on them.

    You may want to try WOT for Firefox. Overall your config looks good.
  3. Dieselman

    Dieselman

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So if your not running CAV then you are no longer using CIS. So your real time is only Comodo Firewall with D+. Why not use CIS to its full potential?
  4. WinAndLinuxTutorials

    WinAndLinuxTutorials Community Superstar Trusted Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,158
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Use an antivirus. You can get something like AVG free, Avast, Avira.
  5. NSG001

    NSG001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,924
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Hi Guys.
    I have edited my config now.
    The installation of CIS was the custom installation without AV and GeekBuddy ;)
    Awaiting CIS 6 sometime next year and will give AV another try.
    Considering a freebie AV solution as suggested.
  6. NSG001

    NSG001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,924
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Cheers,
    Panda filter is exceptional. prefer this over Traffic Light which slowed down browsing a touch.
    May give WOT a whirl sometime (But use SSL Scroogle as search engine and careful what i click )
    Thankyou
  7. Dieselman

    Dieselman

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is no point in install CIS if your not going to use CAV. Comodo offers each component separately. So then you should uninstall CIS and install Comodo firewall with your choice of a free av to avoid any conflicts. Installing suites and then disabling certain features is never a good practice to get into.
  8. NSG001

    NSG001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,924
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    178
    The antivirus component was never installed (please read post previous) as i made a custom install.
    I am considering a freebie AV to run along side.
  9. Dieselman

    Dieselman

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I understand it was never installed but its good practice.This is why Comodo offers Comodo stand alone firewall. The av is still in the package. Just advice to avoid conflicts.
  10. NSG001

    NSG001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,924
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Thanks for your advice, I was advised that the latest installers were packed this way to avoid such conflicts.
    Maybe I'll PM egemen at Comodo to be sure.
  11. Dieselman

    Dieselman

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Egemen is a good guy and your probably all set. But if that was the case then Comodo should take the separate installers off there site and everyone can just download CIS. To each his own so its your choice. If I wasn't needing an entire suite then I wouldn't download it in the first place. Have a good day.
  12. moonshine

    moonshine Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    127
    You're all secured. Keep everything updated and backed up.
  13. McLovin

    McLovin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    8,318
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Nice config. Looks pretty solid.
  14. DiabloBlack

    DiabloBlack Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    35
  15. ranget

    ranget Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    35
    if i were you i will Add Avast
    Really good Free antivirus

    with other suggestion from the other Members
  16. NSG001

    NSG001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,924
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Updated config considerably, now resembles Fort Knox :)
    Added avast Free / Sandboxie / BDTL / EMET 2.1 / Keyscrambler Personal and main browser Comodo Dragon 16.1
    Still puny lightweight memory config and extremely resistant.
    Thanks to all for suggestions, you have all been a mine of info :)

    Waiting on Comodo Internet Security 5.9 (due any day) until i test anything else.
    May run with this when released for a while.
  17. McLovin

    McLovin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    8,318
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Question why have sandboxie when you have the inbuilt one in Avast?
  18. Ramblin

    Ramblin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    127
    #1, Avast sandbox is still in baby stage.:D

    #2, The sandboxes work differently as the Avast sandbox (free version) will automatically sandbox files and programs that are classified by Avast as unknown/suspicious. Using SBIE (free version) you can choose to run sandboxed any application that you want. This is something that you can not do with the Avast sandbox.

    #3,On the paid versions, you can choose what to run sandboxed with Avast but as far as I know, files can not be saved out of the sandbox. That is a killer if you want to use a sandbox.

    Anybody using SBIE and Avast, should disable the Avast sandbox in my opinion, to avoid probable conflicts.

    Bo
  19. NSG001

    NSG001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,924
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    178
    @ Mclovin, what my spokesman said :)
    avast!'s is definetly in it's infancy, feel more secure using Sandboxie.
    Don't forget the sandbox is enabled in Comodo also for any stray rogues.
  20. Umbra Polaris

    Umbra Polaris Testing And Review Expert MalwareTips Staff

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,665
    Likes Received:
    4,063
    Trophy Points:
    1,597
    Sandboxie'sandbox is based on full virtualization unlike CIS which is based on policies. they work differently so it is why they dont conflict each other. (this will change when CIS v6 sandbox will come with full vurtualization too)

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads: NSG001's Configuration
Forum Title Date
Avast Software Best configuration performance for Avast! Free Aug 13, 2014
Other Security Related Discussions Best Security Configuration Aug 12, 2014
Security Configuration Wizard CWT's System Configuration Aug 10, 2014
Security Configuration Wizard wordsmith's configuration Aug 5, 2014
Security Configuration Wizard conTROLLeur's configuration Aug 5, 2014

MalwareTips.com is an independent website.All trademarks mentioned on this page are the property of their respective owners.