AV license expiring, looking for new solution

rodrigopimpao

Level 1
Thread author
Aug 2, 2018
Hello everybody,

This is my first thread here, I'm not sure I'm in the right place.
I have seen a few threads like this one, but each one is specific to each person's likes and dislikes, so I decided to create one for me and let the experts comment.

So, I have been using ESET for at least 6 years now. For the past year, I trusted ESET Smart Security Premium to keep my system protected. I always liked it, nothing to complain about.
I always thought that extra bucks towards security is not a waste, but not also necessary. But still, I paired up with one of the most pricey subscriptions.

Now, it is expiring soon, and I would like to give it a try to new alternatives.
Some I've been looking to give it a try:
1. Bitdefender Total Security 2019;
2. Cylance Smart Antivirus;
3. Emsisoft Anti-Malware Home;
4. Open to suggestions.

Also, for the past year, I bought some lifetime licenses. To be more exact, a lifetime VPN service (PureVPN) and an "additional security layer" called Heimdal (now rebranded to Thor Foresight).

I read some reviews about Cylance not being able to provide the full set of features that top AV provides, mostly related websites protection like anti-phishing and so on. Considering I could rely on Heimdal/Thor Foresight to do this job, is Cylance a viable option?

Also, considering all the "security holes" my current setup protects me, what alternatives could keep at the same (or higher) level of protection?

This thread might be a little vague, so let's debate. If you need more inputs from my side, let me know.

Thanks guys!

_CyberGhosT_

Level 53
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Aug 2, 2015
I employed EmsiSoft before I switched to DeepArmor. If you are looking for something new that's what I would use, EmsiSoft is very effective and the staff there are top notch. Good luck and let us know what you decide to run with. PeAcE